July’s Goals

I know we’re a couple of days away from July, but I’m going to get some goals down today. They’re my goals, so as far as I’m concerned, there’s nothing to say I can’t start on them today.

I need goals because at the moment I’m doing nothing at all towards writing. I have just had a long weekend away, but then I was also back yesterday and did nothing. Goals work for me. Especially when they’re written goals that I can refer back to and cross off etc. More importantly if I have to do a right up at the end of the month I’m more likely to stick to them. And I will do a write-up at the end of the month.

So, my goals for July are:

  • Write 250 words a day – 5 days a week
  • Post 5 blogs a week
  • Finish American Gods by Neil Gaiman
  • Read another 2 novels (I’m likely to get some for my birthday next week so can’t specify which 2 now)
  • Spend 2 hours a week on my writing course

I know I could do more, but considering my performance over the last few months I think I’ll stick to something very achievable. I’ve also done it so it’s ‘x per week’ rather than ‘x overall’ so I don’t write my whole week’s allowance on one day – so I don’t cheat really. It also means I can start today without that taking away from the amount I have to do next month.

I can’t decide when a week starts and finishes. Should be a Sunday finish, but if I have a Saturday finish that takes me exactly to the end of July. I think that works.

Right better go off and start writing! I didn’t take part in Fiction Friday last week (I’ll blame going away, but I think the hangover had more to do with it) so I’ll give that a shot today.

5 thoughts on “July’s Goals

    • Thanks Rebecca. When I first started setting myself goals, I was surprised how much I could do when I put my mind to it. I don’t think having high expectations is a bad thing 🙂

  1. I’m not a list maker or goal setter most of the time, but I have to admit I do think it helps to keep us on track. I think you’re wise to set reasonal goals..

    Good luck with your July goals!

  2. I find that I’m most efficient when I hand write a to-do list and physically cross off each item. I’ve tried all kinds of software to make lists across the web and they never seem to get done.

    I see nothing wrong with cheating and doing next weeks work today (as an example). Sometimes I hit my stride in the middle of a task and can accomplish more while I am in the mood rather than pulling myself away and trying to find motivation the following day/week.

    Good luck with your goals.

Leave a Reply

