July Joy

The sun is shining, the weather is hot, it’s July, nearly my birthday, and the first day for my July Goals. A day to be positive I feel.

I had a bad day yesterday, loads of glum work stuff and was feeling a bit down with lack of progress on the new job front. Thankfully a friend took me out for dinner and reminded me what I want and am trying to achieve.

I’m doing a creative writing course. I’m writing lots on the side. That’s what I want to do. I want to write. My day job is just getting me through until I can make money from writing, or I realise I can’t. Either way, it’s temporary. It’s a way of making ends meet.

When I started the course last year, I decided I’d stay in my boring, pretty poorly paid job while I do the course. I’d try to make writing a career, and make money from my JOB. Somewhere along the line I forgot that, I’ve been thinking I need a career now. I don’t – I need a job. I want to walk away at 5pm with no thoughts of work, so I can write at home. That’s what I want.

I feel so much better today realising that. I’ve already applied for one job (that actually sounds pretty good) and am aiming to apply for at least one more today, on top of writing, going to the gym and reading. See, look, when I put my mind to it, I can achieve anything. Well, I can achieve lots anyway, maybe not ANYTHING.

Today, as well as all the above, I’m going to be eavesdropping. All in the name of writing. Over at Bugged they’re holding an actual Creative Eavesdropping Day. Today participants must listen in to other people’s conversations, and create a story from something they hear. They then have until August to send it in. Good things get posted on the site, great things get put in an anthology, 10 amazing things go in a book. Wow. Right people of London, be prepared, to be heard!

As I’m mentioning competitions, it’s probably a good time to mention the Rowan Coleman’s Short Story Competition I’m going to be entering. 1000 words on ‘Starting Over’. I’ve got my idea. I’ve roughly written 250 words. I just need to finish it. I’m worried about getting dialogue in it. I think stories are better with dialogue, but it’s going to be hard to get any in, without giving away the twist. I will be trying though. Maybe I’ll work on that this afternoon. Or tomorrow, after Fiction Friday. Woop for Fridays!

I’m going to have to change my ‘about’ section on here, and am gutted about it. It currently reads ‘I’m a 20 something ‘new to writing girl.’ ‘ From Monday, I won’t be 20 something anymore – no, I turn 30 then. (hence the reason for my little stress yesterday). It’s going to have to change to ‘early-30s’ or ’30 yo’ or something. Eek. Oh well, I’ll think about that next week.

Right. Lunch. Ear-wigging. Excellent.

3 thoughts on “July Joy

  1. Nothing I like more than a good old earwig into other people’s conversations. I often go out purely to people watch – I make up short stories and character bios about who I see. Might give this a go!

    I turn the ‘grand’ 3-0 in January. It’s horrible when you change boxes. I think I’ll try to stay in my 20’s!lol No one will ever know!lol

    • I had so much fun. I only did it walking past people, so I wouldn’t know what they were talking about. I wrote down a whole load of comments and have a few ideas of the beginning of stories. I know other people that do that, make up stories about the people they see, I’ve done it a little too. It’s fun isn’t it.

      That’s true, no one knows if you chose not to tell them! 😉

  2. Age is a funny thing. Some people get really stressed out over it while others don’t even realize another year has passed.

    I was at my in-laws today when my mother-in-law asked me to pass on a happy birthday to my father (his birthday is tomorrow) and we got talking about age. I told her that half the time I have to do the math to find out how old I am. Once I hit the legal drinking age of 21, I never paid much attention to my birthday.

    Come to think of it, I turn 28 later this month.

    Happy birthday

Leave a Reply

