I got told off yesterday by my ex for not updating my T&SRC (Thriller & Suspense Reading Challenge) page. A while ago I asked him to add more linky things (I can’t get my head around it, and with a friend like him, I luckily don’t need to!), and he did. And I’ve done nothing with them. So today, like a good little girl, I made a list of all the novels I’ve read for it, and which ones I need to review for the challenge. Uh.. well… I need to do three. Ugh.

I’m not the world’s biggest fan of book reviewing. I don’t know why, I’m just never sure what to write that doesn’t consist of ‘I love this’ or ‘I really liked that’, I think I always sound uneducated and ridiculous (not really selling my blog here for when I do a review am I?). I think it’s one of those the more you do the better you get things. With three books to do (plus another when I’ve finished my current book) hopefully I’ll get better at it – and more confident.

I’m really proud of my achievements today. I decided last night I NEEDED to be more productive at work – in the sense of doing things for myself, not work-work, I’m very productive there – so first thing I did when I got here was to write a list. Here’s how my list looks as of now:

  • Apply for a job
  • Apply for a job
  • Edit section 1 of writing course assignment
  • Edit section 2 of writing course assignment
  • Finish story for Fiction Friday this week
  • Make list of books to review for T&SRC
  • Text 2nd job boss for hours this w/e

It’s not brilliant, but it’s pretty good. 4 out of 7 items done. I’m happy with that. It’s it so predictable the writing course items are the ones not done. I’ll try to get some done after the gym tonight!

The whole finish the story for FF is a little unfair not to cross off. True, I’ve not finished it, but I have written 1200 odd words towards it – it’s turning into something much bigger than I thought it would be. I’ll have to finish it tomorrow, but inside I FEEL like I’ve ticked it off.

Also today, I’ve spent quite a lot of time on Twitter and Google Reader, reading and commenting. I’ve not done much commenting for a while and I miss it. I’ve done lots today.

I don’t think I’ve written about how much I love this Google Reader thing. Laura Best told me (and the world on a post which I’m not going to be able to find in the time I have available) about the wonders of GR – how you can have all your blogs you like to read in one place. I’ve always had the WordPress ones here on my blog surfer, but never really followed anyone else’s – cause you know, how would I get to them, know when they’ve posted etc. In fact that’s actually one of my reasons for loving Twitter – some people tweet when they have a new blog (me!). Now with GR I can import (I don’t know if that’s the right word) all the blogs I want to read to one place. It’s AMAZING. Except I’ve not been keeping up with it when I add people so I have like 3 million unread posts. Ok, maybe not 3 million, maybe just 165. That’s enough.

Tomorrow I HAVE to enter Rowan Coleman’s Status Short Story Competition on Facebook. I think it’s maybe a month or so since I entered it. That’s bad. I just can’t think of such small stories. I’ll have a long think tonight. Or tomorrow morning.

I also need to crack on with Rowan Coleman’s Short Story Competition. The real one to win mentoring with her and stuff. I don’t know why I can make myself sit and write 1200 words for a ‘nothing’ story, but when I have one I NEED to write for a competition, I can’t make myself sit and do it. I think the fact that it is such a SOMETHING story is a bit scary, so I keep putting it off for other things I say I ‘need’ to do. I notice my excuses for not doing it get more varied every day. I’ll be so mad at myself if I don’t do it.

Tomorrow. I will do it tomorrow. Or over the weekend. I need to check the closing date actually. I think it’s about a week away. Eek. Oh well, at school I always left things to the last minute and I got through – I’m sure I can pull this off!

6 thoughts on “

    • John by saying this you saved my story. I was going to draw it out to a long conclusion with it all working out right, but your comment made me think that that wasn’t necessary – and it wasn’t. Thanks!

  1. Google Reader is a fantastic service. I try to leave it running in the background when I am at the office. It comes in handy for those times when you just need to step away from a project for a couple of minutes. When my daughter was born I was away from it for a couple of days. I logged back in to “1,000+” new messages, talk about overwhelming. Fortunately I have everything broken out in categories and I can mark certain folders as read without loosing much sleep (like my ‘News’ folder which gets updates multiple times per hour).

    I’ve done a few book reviews and they are difficult. The hardest part for me is leaving the review vague so that I don’t spoil anything for a potential reader.

    • I’m so freaked out by 1000+. I’m freaked out at nearly 200. Mine are all writing related, so there’s not really any way I can break them down. Oh well.

      Yes, I totally agree with that. I hate it when you read a review and it’s a step by step guide of what happens.

      • I have “Writing Blogs” broken down into two categories. One contains things which help my writing (like Write Anything or a site that focuses on the editing process). Then I have things I like to read in a seperate folder.

        I do have some things that cross boundaries. A few of the blogs that participate in Fiction Friday I have in my “Writing Folder” because I see them as pieces to learn from, in addition to being a pleasure to read.

Leave a Reply

