Reading… Writing… And Thanks…

I’m not a happy bunny today! When I left work yesterday, one of the computers crashed. Apparently EVERYTHING on the hard disk has been lost. Let me repeat EVERYTHING. So all the writing I’ve done over the last few months that I’ve not emailed to myself or saved in my email drafts, or done on another computer has been lost. The worst thing about it is that I was going to save everything yesterday to my USB stick, but it didn’t work. How typical.

I think it’s not as bad as I’m imagining. I think most of the time I either email myself what I’ve done, or store it as a draft. But I can’t remember what was on there to remember to look for it. How annoying.

The thing I’m most annoyed with is a 2000 odd word thing I’d written about meeting a stranger in an airport. I really liked it and thought it could maybe fit into one of my novels, ‘Holiday’. Because it was so long and took me a few days to do, I thought it must be saved somewhere on my emails (I work on 3 different computers at work so am constantly moving round), but I can’t find it. I think I saw it yesterday on the computer that crashed. Damn. I’m sure I’ll find it, but it’s so annoying. I hope I will anyway.

I finally sat down last night and did the 1st draft of my story for Rowan Coleman’s Short Story Competition. 907 words. I don’t think I read it back, so I have no idea what it’s like. I’m going to leave it today, then go back tomorrow (when, fingers crossed, I’m less tired and it’s not ‘fresh’ in my mind).

I wanted to re-read the module on my writing course about short stories before I wrote it, but typically can’t find that booklet. I’ve written to my tutor to get an online password so I can access it online. I thought I’d done that but neither of my email addresses worked. Sigh.

Which reminds me, writing course. Damn, I had a goal to work on that for at least 2 hours a week (I think). I failed miserably on that one. Oops. It was my birthday week though, so I think I can let myself off on that – I’ll try to do double this week to make up for it!

Speaking of Rowan Coleman, I’m going to the library to get one of her books today. I figure seeing as I’m entering her competition I should read some of her work. I’ve read one of her mini novel, quick read things, which is how I heard of her, that was great. I’m planning on walking out with one book only. Lets see if I can manage that (I bet not!).

That’s a complete lie. I’ve just been through the list I have on Ubernote of books I’ve heard of that I want to read (yeah, I’ve got a different list to the one on here – I should update this one!) and found that my library has one of the books on my list. What am I to do? I’ll have to get that one too. So 2. MAX. No more. Just 2. We’ll see…

I wrote my 500th comment last night on this blog. I know I’ve not actually had 500 comments, I know a lot of them are mine, but still, I must have had a lot. I like to reply to them all, but sometimes I group reply. Thanks everyone who comments, it’s so nice to know people care enough to take time out of their day not to just read my blog, but to comment too 🙂

10 thoughts on “Reading… Writing… And Thanks…

  1. I know the feeling well regarding comments. I looked at my stats just the other day and say that I was a couple of comments short of the 1k milestone. I then realized that a great many of my comments are me responding to and/or thanking the people kind enough to leave a comment.

    I just tell myself that when it comes to blog comments, I’ll take quality over quantity.

    • Wow, that’s a lot. I was thinking about your comments the other day – how you said you get more from writing than anything else. Is that still true? I bet you get loads when you post pics of the little one now!

      100% agree with you, and I have a great quality commentors!

      • That is the still true, for the most part. On occasion I’ll get an off-topic post that gets a fair share of comments but the bulk of mine have been coming from the writing exercises (Fiction Friday, Friday Flash, and Writers Adventure Group). Now that I’m falling into a routine with the little one, I’m hoping to be back to a normal posting routine soon. I also have outlines for the next three installments of Memoirs of an Assassin 🙂

        I think the writing posts get the most comments because they are more than just a blog post. We generally offer feedback and suggestions with one another which leads to conversation.

        I spread the photos of Natalie out over Twitter, Facebook, Flickr, and my blog. Seeing all the supportive comments and photo views puts a smile on my face 🙂

  2. I only came across your blog in the past month or so and I love it! I comment when I can because I know, on my own blog, how lovely it is to get comments from people.

    I feel your pain about maybe losing some stuff. I had a major laptop meltdown a couple of years ago and I lost some stuff. I was distraught. I hadn’t backed up and I really had lost some stuff I’d written. I’ve learnt my lesson and back up all the time now.

    I’ve only read one Rowan Coleman book – I’m ashamed to say, but it was really good! I’ve met her and she’s so lovely! I was a bit star struck when I met her and asked her to sign my book. We met as part of the group, Novel Racers. :o)

    • Novel Racers? What’s that?

      I luckily found the thing I was most worried about – I’m just going to try not to remember everything else that was on there (I have a bad memory so it’s not that hard).

      If I win this competition I’ll get to meet her too. I met Lisa Jewell a few months ago – I know what you mean about star struck. There’s a photo on my facebook (profiles) of me and her!!! 😀

      • The Novel Racers is an online group of published and unpublished writers. It was started by Kate Harrison and Lucy Diamond about 3 years ago. We have a blog where we can post news, views and advice for each other. http://www.novelracers.blogspot.com/
        I would seriously be lost if it weren’t for them. As a group we’ve gone through everything you can imagine. At the moment the future of the group is in doubt IMO, although no one has said anything yet. There are some good links and contacts on that site though.

Leave a Reply

