Friday Fun!

I know it’s friday which technically means it should be Fiction Friday, but I’m not too sure if I’m going to take part this week. I probably will, but maybe I’ll leave it until Sunday. Or something.

Today’s been really busy for me. First I had to actually do some work at work (this week is crazy, almost feel like I had a real job with all this work stuff going on). Then I had to edit my story for Rowan Coleman’s Short Story Competition. Oh, that was a mission.

I totally planned to do it on Thursday, then just re-read it today before sending it, but I got accidently drunk on Wednesday, then had house key nightmares and didn’t get much sleep – so needless to say, I wasn’t feeling very creative yesterday. Then when I thought it was finished (or almost) I got a couple of people to read over it, cause I wasn’t 100% sure about the twist. I was right to be worried, they didn’t get it. So then I had to work out how to move it round. Eventually I did it, and sent it off. It’s gone. My first short story competition. It’s pretty exciting. Now I’m over the worry!

I’m now really tired after a week of really early mornings, so am going to go to bed shortly (I’m also working tomorrow – on Saturday, gutted!), so don’t feel like I can give Fiction Friday a fair go now. Tomorrow I’m working then going straight out for my friend’s 30th. So that’s why I’m probably not going to give FF a shot.

There’s another reason too, which I’m a little embarrassed to admit. But as we’re all friends here… The prompt for this week is to use a McGuffin in your story. A McGuffin. What? So they explained what it is, but I don’t really get it. Especially with the examples they used, from two films I’ve not seen. I’m sure if I wasn’t so tired and had more energy I could find out, but don’t have the energy today.

I did have an idea that I’d cheat and use ‘McGuffin’ as a name of a person. Because I said earlier in the week I wanted to use FF as an exercise in trying out different characters. So I thought that McGuffin could be a nasty, or short-tempered man. There would be a nervous person too and someone else. I don’t really know what she’d be. I think when I get the energy or something I’ll write it. Rules are meant to be broken after all 😉

Happy weekend everyone!

3 thoughts on “Friday Fun!

  1. I also had a lot of trouble with the prompt for this week. They listed Pulp Fiction as an example (I love that movie) and grasped what I was supposed to do, but I just couldn’t come up with anything. All of my ideas were just too Pul Fiction-ey.

    I then headed over to Wikipedia to look up the term and see if I could gather some examples and build from there. That also resulted in nothing inspirational. After what I felt was a great deal of effort and no results, I instead posted another installment of my current serial.

    I’ve read a couple of the Mcguffin entries so far and they have been great. I’m disappointed that I didn’t participate this week but at the same time, I feel as though I put forth an honest effort of trying to come up with an idea before having moved on.

    Do you have a link to your short story submission? I’d like to read it if its publicly posted somewhere.

  2. Well even though you didn’t post anything, you’ve learnt from it, so I’d say that’s still a result. I may take a leaf from your book and do the same. I’m glad you’ve posted the next part of MOAA – can’t wait to go over to your blog and read it.

    No, I’ve not put the story anywhere- one of the T&Cs is that it can’t have been published anywhere -including your blog. The results come through in a month, so I’ll post it then. I think I’ve got your email address on my work computer, so I could buzz it over to you if you’d like?

Leave a Reply

