Next Project

I loved having a writing project to concentrate on last week, and feel a little lost this week not having one (although I have managed to actually read some blogs etc today without the pressure of thinking I should be doing something else instead!). Or I was feeling that way, until I remembered I’ve got a project I should be working on for The Bugged Project.

If you don’t know about this, on 1st July they encouraged people to listen into other people’s conversations, and from that create a 1000 word story (or maybe a poem, can’t remember). I did and I’ve got an idea. In fact I’ve written maybe the first 3/4 of it. I don’t think the closing date is until mid August, but I’d really like to get it done before then – prove to myself I don’t always have to leave something until the last minute.

I guess there’s always the novel I could edit. Agh. At some point I WILL do that. When I first started thinking about this writing thing seriously I said to my cousin that I’d take her to Hawaii surfing to celebrate my first novel being published (there’s nothing like a bit of optimism is there!) when she’s 21 (legally old enough to drink over there in the States!). She’s just about to turn 19 – which gives me two years to edit, submit and get published. Hmmm. I’m thinking that’s not long enough. BUT if I keep that in mind maybe I can push myself into editing it. Maybe if I talk about starting the editing process enough, I’ll bore myself so much I’ll start doing it!

Right, I think I’ll go and work on my story – currently titled ‘Mushrooms’ – as you do!

2 thoughts on “Next Project

  1. Your new project sounds like so much fun- I love eavesdropping (than I suppose all writers do) 🙂
    I’m revising my first novel right now and I can understand your reluctance, it is not as much fun as writing that first draft but it must be done… Think about Hawaii , I bet that will give you the motivation you need 😉

    • Hi Lua,
      You should have a go at the project – I could potentially do so many stories from what I heard that day. They say if you missed 1st July to listen, you can do it any other day = as long as your story comes from something you’ve heard.

      Well done for starting the editing, I hope once I do that I’ll get on a roll.

      Thanks for stopping by and your encouraging words 🙂

Leave a Reply

