A New Book, a Boring Book and Writing

I’ve just had a look at my stats and seen someone today has visited my ‘About’ page today.Which reminded me I need to change it. It says I’m a ‘twenty something…’ and I’m not anymore – I’m now thirty. I’m so not ready to change it to ‘thirty something’ so it might have to stay a lie for a while. Thirty Something is just such a big jump. Besides, EVERYONE says I look younger than I am so I can get awa with it. Plus really, no one knows (except me and the two other people that know ME – and my Mum’s not read this for months).

I got a copy of Rowan Coleman’s novel The Happy Home for Broken Hearts in the post today. On her Facebook page Rowan asked for bloggers to review the book that’s out in August. I’m so incredably excited! I’m slightly bored by the book I’m reading so want to stop it and start on this one.

The problem with that is I know if I put it down, I won’t pick it back up. I’ve also worked out the problem with it: I don’t really like the MC – I don’t care enough about them. The premise of the book is great, but I just don’t empathise with the characters. I don’t know if it’s cause they’re a different class to me – they’re totally upperclass and it seems to go through everything that happens, it’s money this, posh school that, more money the other. I’ve never had issues like this with any books, so maybe I just don’t like the characters. There is one that’s ok, and and I love the story so want to keep reading. Plus there’s not many books I’ve actually given up on. I hate giving up!

I feel like I’ve done nothing today. Writing wise. While at work. It makes me think – when I lose this job (I’m going to get made redundant in about 2 months) and get a ‘real’ job, when the hell am I going to write, blog and read blogs? I mean I do that all at work. I don’t know when real people do that. I guess they do it after work, on lunch breaks etc. And I guess if I didn’t come home and watch TV I could do it then. But when my housemate’s sat there it’s so easy. Plus the internet doesn’t work in my room. I need to see if I can get some kind of router or something to make it work. I don’t even know if anything like that exists.

Ok. I’m going to do some writing. After I check Twitter. And read a few blogs (just mananged to get my unread blog count on Google Reader by adding a few more people – and that’s not everyone I want to add!).

5 thoughts on “A New Book, a Boring Book and Writing

  1. I know that feeling well, when you’re reading one book but dying to get into another one!

    And there’s nothing wrong with thirty-something. In a few months I won’t even be able to say forty-something any more. And I don’t care. I feel like a totally different age in my mind anyway. LOL!

    • The important thing is how you feel so you’ve got the right attitude there. Being 30 hasn’t bothered me, it’s just the leap to 30s! I’ll get there 🙂

      I hear about people that can be reading 2 books at the same time – I could never do that, which one would you pick up each time you went to read? The idea baffles me!

  2. Back before I had a desk job, all of my internet time was done while at school (took night classes for a degree program). Back before then I would hop on the web after work and before going out for the night.

    Nowadays I’m on throughout the day while at the office. I’m online periodically throughout the evening (pregnant wife for nine months and now having a baby, I’m home pretty often). When I’m not home, I have a Blackberry for quick web searches, Twitter, and loads of email.

    Its funny, I went for barely connected to practically always connected. As far as your lack of internet in your room goes, you can pick up a wireless router to take care of that. Your new laptop should be able to take advantage of that with little setup.

  3. Haha that’s OK, it is your ‘about’ page- if you feel like a twenty-something, than that is what it’s ‘about’ 😉
    I can totally relate to the feeling of wanting to quit reading a boring book but can’t because- you don’t quit books! When you don’t care enough about the MC it’s really difficult to read that story…

Leave a Reply

