Redundancy, Jobs and Writing

After my week starting so well with a day off yesterday, I think it’s pretty likely to fall into the gutter on Thursday. I have a terrible feeling I’m going to get my one month notice for redundancy. Agh. Eek. Damn. I might be wrong, but that might be the case. I really hope not cause that means job hunting will go to the top of my things to do list and I know writing, blogging and keeping up with the writing world I immerse myself in will get neglected. I know I’m going to have the notice at some point so have to look for a job then, but later is much better in my opinion than sooner.

I had some interesting conversations over the weekend that have made me think a lot. I spent the weekend with my family out of town, and told my aunt and cousin a lot more about this whole writing thing than I had done before. This lead to them reading some of my stories, part of Holiday and lots of chats about them both.

I told them that I decided 18 odd months ago that I was going to try to make it as a writer and do this writing course, and not worry about a ‘real’ career until I’d finished the course – giving myself the opportunity to see if I have what it takes. I sometimes forget that I made that decision. If I forget about it, or go back to working some hard job that requires more than 40 hours a week effort, I bet I’d stop working on the course, then always have that what if… hanging over me.

They likened writers to actors – do what they can to pay the bills until they get their big break! I have wondered if maybe I should go back into hotels cause then I could work shifts and I’m sure if I didn’t start work until 3pm I’d be more motivated to write in the morning. But then I remember I want a social life and discount that idea. Oh god, why can’t I have it all? Or win the lottery so give up work.

4 thoughts on “Redundancy, Jobs and Writing

  1. Such is the dilemma on my end. I’m facing my workplace shutting its doors this week. I’m trying to get back into school and now I’m going to have to be looking for a new job.
    I think the thing we both need to do is schedule time to write. It doesn’t work all that well for me, but at least we’ll have a specific minimum amount of time set aside each day to hone our craft.
    It’s all about priority. For me, it’s simply a matter of setting aside TV time. Instead of watching it a few hours each night after work I’ll cut an hour out.
    Of course, when I do get laid off I plan on sitting here and spending all my time (when I’m not looking for work) writing articles for those three websites I mentioned on my blog.
    I’m glad your family took interest in your work. Makes you feel good when they take the time to see what you’ve been up to.

    • That sucks for you too then. Sorry to hear it.

      The cutting TV idea is what I want to try, but it’s so hard just falling in front of it when my housemate’s always got it on when I get in. In August I’m making a goal I’ll hopefully stick to of writing 250 words a day. I’m planning on doing NaNoWriMo again this year so need to get in the habit of writing daily again. I’m feeling a Twitter encouragement for each other should start…

Leave a Reply

