Inception and Other Things in My Head

I went to see Inception last night. Had I have watched it two years ago, I would’ve just thought it was a great story. Now that I’m writing, I think it’s so much cleverer. I mean, just imagine having the thought in the first place, then developing it into so much detail, and on so many levels. It’s almost like five stories in one, all interconnected. It properly blew my mind – so much so I’m still thinking about it now. And am desperate to see it again.

I wish I could write thrillers, but I’m pretty sure I couldn’t. I’ve never tried so I guess I don’t know, but I just can’t imagine being clever enough to think up all the twists that you’d need to keep the reader captivated. Saying that I do have an idea for a thriller that I might write at some point. Maybe. At the moment I’m happy with Romance and Chick Lit.

I’m determined to read a load of my writing course modules done today. I’ve had my booklet next to me all week, but have only made it to page 5. I am making notes though, so it will be a slow process. While I’m doing nothing for most of the day, it’s stupid NOT to be doing it.

Did you read my blog yesterday? It was ‘taken over’ by Kate from ‘Holiday’ as part of Blog Takeover Day held by Sally Quilford at Quillers. I loved this idea so much. Especially as it fitted in with my Fiction Friday pieces at the moment featuring Kate and Dan. I was tempted to do it from Dan to get into his mind to show he’s not all that bad, but as Holiday is written in 1st person it was too good an opportunity to ‘practice’ Kate that I had to go with her. There’s some great over takeovers that were done from other people: characters, pets and even laptops. If you get a chance I’d strongly suggest popping over to Sally’s blog to read some of them (when you’re done here of course 🙂 )

It’s a week today that the results of Rowan Coleman’s Short Story Competition are revealed. Although I have no doubts I won’t come anywhere near the top five – it was my first competition entry after all, and the standard of the other writers that entered is SO high – I do occasionally have little day dreams that I win. How nice would it be. I’m determined that one day I WILL win a competition, or at least get close. Practice, practice, practice.

Which reminds me, the deadline for the Bugged Project is this weekend. This is the one where you make a story from something you overheard on 1st July. I can’t believe it’s been a month and 12 days since I ‘bugged’ and I’ve only written the first draft of half the story. I really need to get it done before leaving work tomorrow, because I doubt I’ll get a chance over the weekend.

Ok, right then. Writing course!

3 thoughts on “Inception and Other Things in My Head

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Inception and Other Things in My Head « Newtowritinggirl's Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Before I began writing seriously, I used to think ‘great story’ when I read a good book or watched a good movie. But now, I think about the plot, the climax, the character development etc. and I think I enjoy it more than I used to knowing how much work it took for the writers to come up with this story.
    Good luck with all your reading and the Rowan Coleman’s Short Story Competition (-you’ll never know!)

Leave a Reply

