About the Wirting Course, My Novels and A Chick Lit Event

As I’m trying to get back in the habit of blogging at least five times I week, I’m writing this blog. At the moment I can’t really think of anything to write about, but knowing me I’ll find something.

I can write about my writing course. I’ve read another module today. It’s the module about Plotting your novel. Having read it, I cannot put into words how much I want to get going on plotting ‘Holiday’. It may sound a little weird that I want to plot it when I’ve already written 20k words, but I think that’s maybe why I’ve not got any further.

I always thought I’d be a pantster – me, plan something? Nah. Not really my style. But when I originally started writing ‘Holiday’ I planned some scenes then wrote them. When it came to NaNo, I realised to be able to write 50,000 words in 30 days, I needed to know what I was going to write. So I made a plan of what was going to happen. Not in great detail – a lot of what happened surprised me. But I knew it would start where it would start, and the main things that happened on each of the four or five days the novel panned.

I think that’s where I’m going wrong with ‘Holiday’. I know what happens in the beginning and nearish the end.  But not the middle, I don’t know how I’m going to link the two – when the link needs to be about 10 days long. Hmmm. This is where planning is going to come in.

I’ve got these little cards that I’m going to use for the planning. Each one is going to have something that happens in the novel. Then I guess it will grow from there. I may actually start it tonight I’m that excited!

What I also really need to do is some book reviews for the Thriller & Suspense Reading Challenge. I’ve reviewed and posted only four novels to the site (Book Chick City), when I’ve actually read eight for the challenge. So yeah, that’s four reviews I need to do. Soon.

I’m pretty pleased I’m at eight novels for the challenge. You have to read 12 this year, so I’m exactly on target for the year. Plus I picked up the next book I’m going to read for it last night. That will make it 9 in 8 months. Excellent.

It was a mistake picking up the book last night. I started reading it, and couldn’t put it down. I got through the first chapter, then had an internal battle with myself over whether to carry on or not. ‘Not’ won, which is good because A. I was really tired and had to get up early and it was already late, and B. I’m still reading a book.

A book which I need to finish tonight (want to), because I’m going to see the author tomorrow. Woop! There’s a Chick Lit Event tomorrow at Brixton Library where Kate Harrison (current novel author – the book is Brown Owl’s Guide to Life and it’s great), Lisa Jewell and Jenny Colgan (and others) are going to be. The night’s going to be ‘Laughter, discussion, questions and books.’ Seriously there is one excited woman typing this!

See, I knew I could find enough rambling to make a blog!

4 thoughts on “About the Wirting Course, My Novels and A Chick Lit Event

  1. When I try to plan out any type of storyline, I find that I do best by hand-writing out the pieces. I especially like using a white board and dry erase markers. Technology is great for may things but when it comes to writing, I only like using a computer for word processing (and research, if needed, of course)

  2. Hiya N2WG,

    I am so envious of your chick lit date tomorrow night. I love Jenny Colgan, I think I may have a biblio crush on her. I hope she’s as down to earth and as funny in real life as her voice comes across in her novels. Amanda’s Wedding is my all time fave.

    Re plotting. I disagree with Walt above (sorry Walt). I have a word doc which I call my scene planner – basically a list of stuff I think should happen in the novel. I like having it electronically, as I can play with the sequence and add more detail to each scene as I think of it. Then after I’ve written the scene from the notes, I transfer the notes onto a spreadsheet which I call my super chapter planner, which clears up space on the page for me to write more notes (me, anal?!).

    Anyway, have fun tomorrow and let us know how it goes,
    Jessica Bull

    @jessjess50

    • I love Jenny Colgan too, not as much as Lisa Jewell. I won tickets to a Lisa Jewell event a few months ago and met her – she’s so nice that am really excited I’ll see her again tonight. However I’m also going to see her next week too at a Stylist magazine event. I’m scared she’s going to think I’m stalking her – ha!

      That sounds like a good way of planning. I have no idea if my way’s going to work. Maybe I’ll try something electronic too.

Leave a Reply

