Competition Time

I’ve just found out about a competition that’s right up my street – Mills & Boon New Voices. The prize? Your novel published, an editor for a year, an Ipad  AND a Mills & Boon Hamper. I’d be pretty happy with any one of those, so all four… All you have to do is enter your first chapter. All you have to do… Ha!

The closing date is 22nd Sep. Eek! That’s next Wednesday. Eek! Obviously without a doubt I’ll use Italian Infatuation – it was after all written to be a Mills & Boon novel. However, I NEED to delete the first chapter. It’s irrelevant to the rest of the novel, and I’m not sure it does much for the MC. But it’s not as easy as just using the 2nd chapter. There are bits in the 1st that need to be taken out and put into the second. And I haven’t worked out how to do that yet. Hense it’s 10 months since I finished writing it, and I’ve not done a thing to editing it.

I also haven’t worked the chapters yet. At the moment it’s 52,000 words (ish, I can’t remember) in one go. No separation. Hmmm. I’ve got a challenge ahead of me. And less that a week to do it. Which really means I should be starting on that and not writing a blog right now. Still, I always say I work better to a deadline, so maybe it will push me to get it done.

No, not maybe I HAVE to do this. People can go on and comment and rate on your entry so that’ll be good. Although I’ve just had a little look and the ratings seem really low – there’s only a couple that are above 50%. Hmmmm. Lots are around 20-30%. Do I really want people to be able to give my first chapter a percentage? Scary. But of course the answer’s yes!

I’m not going to that Chick Lit Book Group tonight. Damnit. I’m still not even half way through the book. I’m enjoying it, but it’s put-down-able. I’m reading it because I’m reading it, I’m not drawn to it, wanting to not doing anything else because I want to read it so much. I often think that’s a good thing, when I HAVE to read books, I don’t get much else done, whereas at least with this one I’m having a life outside of reading.

Which is good at the moment when I’ve got to be editing my first chapter. Agh! Ok, I’m off. I’m gonna do it. Yep, NOW!

3 thoughts on “Competition Time

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Competition Time « Newtowritinggirl's Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. OMG!!! Thanks for sharing this contest. Now I’m wondering if I could possibly grind out an entire 1st chapter of a novel I just began devising. The novel I’ve been working on doesn’t quite fit the categories (considering its not at all romance). I’ve just begun and we’ll see if I make the deadline.

    Which category does your novel (I’m assuming your referencing “Holiday”) fit?

    • Oh I hope you do manage it, although if it’s not romance/Mills & Boon…? It’s a great excuse to get writing fast either way isn’t it (I always seem to need a fast approaching deadline to be able to work!).

      No, it’s actually a novel I wrote last year (for NaNoWriMo) called Italian Infatuation. It was written to fit into their ‘Romance’ cat, but they’ve changed it now to Cherish – but for the comp it’s going to come under Warm and Cosy.

      Good luck – let me know how you get on – I’d love to read your entry if you sub it.

Leave a Reply

