Queen of Procrastination?

At the moment I think I can beat anyone to that title.

I am at home on a Saturday night (as I’m working both weekend days and waitressing tends to tire me out so much I don’t want to do anything else), so really should be taking this opportunity to edit this chapter for the Mills & Boon New Voices competition. You know, the one whose DEADLINE is WEDNESDAY. I’ve been sat at my computer for 2 1/2 hours and guess how much I’ve done? Well, the fact that the paper copy I started editing on Thursday is still in my bedroom and I’m in the lounge should speak for itself.

Not all of what I’m doing is a waste of time, although I agree the games on Facebook and Twittering about silly adverts probably are! I’ve been reading through this week’s Fiction Friday stories. There are some really good ones this week. And I’ve found a couple of author’s blogs I’ve had to add to my Google Reader (like I have enough time to read the ones I’ve got already!).

I’ve also started stressing about how I’m going to find time to write, read all the Fiction Friday stories and other people’s (daily) blogs when I start a ‘real’ (by real I mean busy) job. How do people manage it? I know it’s just a case of managing  my time better. Finishing in the evenings an hour earlier than I used to will make a big difference. I’d often feel that once I finish work, get home, (maybe go to the gym,) cook and eat, that I’ve got no time, or am too exhausted to do anything. It’s only an hour, but it will mean that I’ll have all that finished my 8 rather than 9. At 8 I’ll feel like there’s some of the evening left – so will feel like writing (I hope).

I think what I really need to do is stop watching TV. When I get home from work, I go into the lounge, chat to my housemate (who’s always got the TV on), sit down and am lost in the cr*p of whatever she’s watching. I never really care what’s on (I always let her decide what we watch – that’s how little I care). Then I go to bed. If I can take away the sitting down stage, but go straight to my room, then I should be able to get into writing and catching up with blogs.

It’s just a matter of time management. Something I don’t even try to hide that I’m bad at.

At some point in the next few months my living arrangement have to change (housemate’s selling up, and something more fun too, but more of that further down the line) so hopefully I can use that as an advantage too.

One of the blogs I discovered today is Agatha82‘s. One of her recent blogs was about joining a writer’s group. Yep, that’s raising its ugly head again. How long ago was it I said I’d look into that? And how little have I done. Hopefully the move to a new job, with an earlier finish time will inspire me to do this. I really feel like it’s something I should do.

OK. Enough procrastinating. I must go edit this chapter. I’ve cut a massive section off the beginning, which means that one of my favourite bits can be in the first chapter – in fact, be the end of the first chapter. My problem is that it doesn’t end on a cliffhanger. I would’ve liked it to. But it doesn’t, and I don’t think I can get it to. I guess that’s not a bad thing, I’d just love to leave the reader desperately wanting more. Oh well, lets hope the characters will be enough to get people wanting more!

Just quickly before I go and do my ironing edit the chapter, I’ll share a big problem I’ve got with the novel. My MC’s name is wrong. I thought it was a great name for her – mid 30s, quite sensible, workaholic. BUT, I’ve just realised, that’s not her (through her actions I’ve realised that) it’s just the role she’s been playing since her husband left her for someone else. The name doesn’t suit her. 53,000 words later I realise that. Seriously! I’m toying with Mel. Melanie. But not sure. Oh no, I’ve got four days to work it out.

Right. Now for the bathroom cleaning and washing editing!

7 thoughts on “Queen of Procrastination?

  1. You will laugh but even when you have all the time in the world to write, you still procastinate. I know because I am not working right now. I was crazy enough to quit my day job to finish my novel (planned ahead, saved up for it etc) and I thought “easy! I’ll be done in a month” yeah…right..

    The first month was spent with me spending way too much time online, answering emails, reading blogs, taking 3 hour lunches.

    It’s all a matter of scheduling your time. What may work for you is giving yourself little tasks to complete daily. I do that now, and it really helps.

    One of my novel character had his name changed three times so it’s okay to do that, just a bit of a pain to edit but if you do the “find and replace” thingie, then it’s easier and give her whatever name feels right to you.

    • I don’t think that’s crazy, I think that’s great. I follow lots of authors on Twitter who constantly procrastinate!

      The little tasks a day thing sounds good, thanks for that idea – making lists often helps for me, so maybe if I combine the two…?

      I am so glad there’s that Find and Replace thing, the idea of going through 53 pages and replacing each name would be horrendous. When I started the novel I wasn’t sure about a few names, so used FIONASISTER etc in place, so I’ve used it A LOT already 🙂

    • I think procrastination and writer are two words that go hand in hand aren’t they!

      Ooh, that’s interesting – Melanie in Canada is Melane is it? Hmmm… that’s good to know. I love the name, but I’m still not sure it’s right for her – much better than the one I’ve got… but not quite there I think. Back to the drawing board.

Leave a Reply

