Getting Close

It’s just over 24 hours until the Mills & Boon New Voices deadline. Ahhhhhh. I keep saying I’m getting scared, but I think it’s just words. At the moment I’m feeling a little apprehensive, but nothing major.

I’ve finished draft three, and am pretty happy with it. Except for the fact I need to add in a description of the villa – which I’ve been putting off for ages.

I’ve spent too much time today reading again. I’m now on page 300 and I only started the novel yesterday. Needless to say I’m loving it (Foursome by Jane Fallon). I am going to recommend it to everyone I know. As long as it’s got a good ending. Which I have no doubt it will.

I’m out tonight, but when I get in later I’m going to give the chapter another read through. Maybe I’ll write these two descriptions of the villa. Maybe I’ll leave that until tomorrow. I really shouldn’t.

The last couple of days I’ve spent ages trying to motivate myself to edit, then suddenly at about 11pm I get it and rock through it. If only I could be like that during the day. I’ve been a little tired today because of it.

I got an email today from ErgoFiction to remind me about the Search Term Challenge. Closing date is 14th October… That’s getting close too.

I’m going to a family party on Sunday. I’ve been debating whether to drive over there or get the train. I think I’m going to get the train, that way I can spend the two hours each way reading or writing (maybe even doing my writing course – although doubtful!). That’s so much more appealing than driving. Although that might be because I’m reading a great book. It’ll be well finished by Sunday though!

2 thoughts on “Getting Close

  1. I have trouble writing while traveling as a passenger. The last time I tried it I wound up staring at a word processor for thirty-minutes before closing it and gazing out the window of the plane.

    I think part of it is because I have to write in silence, otherwise I can’t concentrate. I’m the same way with reading, which is why I generally stick ear-phones in my ears and listen to music or watch a video to pass the time.

    Good luck!

    • I’m actually ok with noise when I write – I’ve had to get ok with it when I do so much at work with the radio and people chatting in the background! I’m even better when I read. I can sit in the same room as the TV and still concentrate on what I’m reading – the only thing is I have to be enjoying it, if I’m not my mind tends to wander at the slightest thing!

Leave a Reply

