Foursome by Jane Fallon Review

Rebecca, Daniel, Alex and Isabel have been best friends since university. Rebecca married Daniel, Alex married Isabel and, for twenty years, they have been inseparable. But all that is about to change… When Alex walks out on Isabel, Rebecca thinks things can’t get any worse. But then she finds out the reason why and she’s left harbouring a secret she’d rather forget… And there’s more upheaval to come in Rebecca’s life as her emaciated, neurotic, self-obsessed colleague, Lorna – her arch nemesis at work – suddenly becomes a regular feature in her social life. Rebecca’s once-happy foursome is now a distant memory and with hearts broken and friendships fractured, it seems that change is never a good thing. Or is it?

I pretty much only do book reviews for books for the Thriller & Suspense Reading Challenge, but loved this so much I feel like I need to tell the world (or at least my readers).

I read Fallon’s first novel Getting Rid of Matthew and really enjoyed it, so wanted to read this as soon as it came out. Months later I gave in to the temptation to buy it, then a few weeks after that I started reading it.

Less than 48 hours later I had finished it. I honestly cannot remember reading a book so fast. It was great.

The MC Rebecca is so real, she’s great. Fallon has this great way of making one aspect of her personality a bit of a bitch, but instead of not liking that you love her for it.

It’s written 1st person which I love because I think you get more into the story, you discover things as the MC does, I think it helps to draw you in.

The story is captivating. The couples have been friends since uni but that all changes when Alex leaves his wife, then more revelations come out.

About halfway through I thought there couldn’t be that much more to it, but then there was a twist that took it off again. I was really worried the ending would be all cheesy and predictable which would’ve wrecked it, but it isn’t (cheesy that is, I’m not going to tell you if it’s a predictable ending or not!), it’s a great finish.

Basically – if you like chick lit/romance READ IT. It’s in my top five books EVER.

Leave a Reply

