Changes in Me and A Bit of Reading and Writing

Isn’t it funny what a difference a few months makes. When I first started this writing thing I was terrified of telling anyone I wanted to write, or that I was doing a writing course. Now, I’ll tell whoever will listen. I even tell people I’ve written a novel – although maybe I should stop doing that as I then have to hang my head in shame and admit that I’ve only edited the first chapter of it.

It’s great being able to tell people one of my stories has been accepted on a website. So many people want to read it, how cool is that. Well it will be when I hear back from the website again. I presume it’s normal for them to take ages to contact you about editing and then publishing it? I had an email from them at the end of Sep saying they’re going to post my story and that the editor will be in touch sometime soon. I’m guessing a month later isn’t that much to have not heard anything? Is it?

I’ve just got my notebook and writing course work out because I’m about to start on my plan for the novel I’m going to write for NaNo; the one I’m doubling up as the next assignment for my writing course (the assignment is to plot a novel – convenient). The problem I’m having is I’ve got my main idea, but I can’t decide on a little bit of detail for it. When I say a little bit, I mean the whole setting – maybe not such a little bit. I’ve got one idea that I think would be awesome, but I’d have to do a lot of research. OR I’ve got this other idea that’s good, but the other things that can happen because of that setting I think would be wicked. And I wouldn’t need to do as much research. I think I’m going to go for the second, maybe use the first as a setting to another novel in the future – obvioulsy depending on how well I get on with this whole YA genre.

Speaking of YA genres – I’m reading my next YA novel. Not the one I was planning on reading but something much, much more exciting. I don’t think I should say what, or who by, but basically I was on Twitter yesterday and an author I kind of know (I met through her blog and Twitter and went to her 1st book launch party) offered me her new book to read. It doesn’t come out until next year sometime, HOW EXCITING. She says there’s a lot to change about it, but she wants to know what I think of it. Let me repeat that. SHE wants to know what I think of it. OH MY GOD. How cool is that.

I’m on about chapter six or something (sat on the tube home this evening I was HAPPY for the train to be seriously delayed so I could read more!) and so far LOVING it. (sorry, I’m going a little over the top with the capitals today aren’t I?!) I think I’m loving it more than her first book. It’s actually given me goosebumps a couple of times, and almost made me cry! Always a good sign for a book.

Ok, I think that’s all I have to say for now. I’m going to try to be a better blogger this week than I have been for the last few weeks. I’m also going to try to visit the Fiction Friday stories I’ve missed over the last two weeks, I miss reading those stories. I just wish there was an extra hour or two in the day!

2 thoughts on “Changes in Me and A Bit of Reading and Writing

  1. You have every reason to be excited. These are all great things. I would suspect the website accepts work in advance, but hopefully you won’t have to wait too long. 🙂 Good for you!

Leave a Reply

