NaNoWriMo So Far

I am totally loving NaNo this year for two main reasons: 1. I’m ahead of schedule and 2. The write ins have been great.

First of all. Ahead. Isn’t that great. From the first day I’ve been ahead.

Day Target (total) Day Words Total words Variance
1 1667 1854 1854 187
2 3334 3099 4953 1619
3 5001 1643 6596 1595
4 6668 2459 9055 2387
5 8335 1035 10090 1755

Impressive hey! (And thanks to my new Wrimo friend @jenepel for the idea of a graph – let my inner geek be released!). Even though today and on the 3rd, I wrote less than the 1,667 you should write a day, because I’ve done so well on the other days I’m still almost a day ahead. Woop! I’ll try to get a lot in tomorrow as well, Sunday, I’m not so sure about.

Write-ins. Knew I wanted to go to them, although I have to admit, it was as much for meeting other writers as it was for the writing. How the write ins work is that everyone arrives, chats for a bit, then spends 45 minutes writing. Then there’s a 15 minute break, then another 45 minute stretch of writing. It’s a brilliant idea because when 20 – 36 people around you are typing/writing you feel inspired to write too. Unlike at home, where you might get stuck, so maybe get up to get a drink, or play on Facebook or something. The first write in I went to I wrote 2.2k words, then was so inspired I went home and wrote another 800 ish. Yesterday’s I wrote 2.4. I’d never get that done at home.

Unless it was 5 days away from the end and I needed to.

Also the people at the write ins are great, a really good bunch of people. And they’re like a community too. Half of them know each other from last year, the year before etc. I got talked into going to the pub with them last night and am seriously suffering because of it today. But all in the name of fun, and NaNo!

Guess I should mention the novel – you know, the whole reason I’m doing this. It’s going… ok. I loved it at the beginning, and I guess I’m still enjoying it. It’s just that I’m 10,000 words in, on chapter three, and it’s still the first day of school. I’m sure it shouldn’t last that long. It is where all the back story gets put so I guess it does need to be quite long. I’ll probably have the rest of the week fly by in one paragraph or something!

I’m not reading anything at the moment. I’m too scared to. I think if I pick up a book and enjoy it, I’ll do my usual thing of putting it in front of everything else in life – which obviously I can’t afford to do this month. BUT I’m getting so bored on the tube. I did think of writing on it, but I hardly ever get a seat, so it would be pretty impossible.

What I really need to do is a whole load of reviews for the Thriller & Suspense Reading Challenge. We’re now less than two months away from the end of the year (how??) and I’ve not finished reading all 12 books. Hmmmm. That’s not good. I’ve not even finished (started) reviewing half the books I have read. I keep writing down which ones I’ve done and which I need to do, but then losing the paper I write it on. Doh! Maybe later on today? Maybe not.

I’ve just previewed this post and realised, I’ve not got a NaNo badge for this year. Will have to do that. Silly me!

I didn’t play Fiction Friday yesterday, and I don’t think I will. A couple of people managed to get the prompt into their NaNo story, but I don’t think I’d be able to. I’m tempted to try, but I don’t think it would do anything for the story. It’s sad, but I’m sure it won’t be long until I’m playing again (three weeks at the most I’d guess).

Almost forgot to mention the winner of the Search Term Competition byErgoFiction magazine has been announced. Well done to Merrilee Faber in 1st place with an awesome story and to Ruzin in second and JC Hart in third. Go have a look, they’re great stories. Also you can read my entry, which is slightly different to the romance I usually do, here.

In other really exciting news, I’m moving in with my boyfriend at the end of the month. Yay. But also – in November?!!?!? As if having a full-time job and writing a 50,000 word novel wasn’t enough, I’ve now got to start looking for a place too. Oh well, it’s all good.

Leave a Reply

