Currently Reading: Stephen King’s On Writing

I warn you, pretty much all this post is going to be about is this wonderful book… and I’m only just over halfway through.

On Writing was the first, and by far the most frequently recommended book on writing I’ve heard about. I was therefore quite surprised to hear my Step Mum had read it – she isn’t and never has been a writer. BUT, she’s a Stephen King fan – a massive one.

I on the other hand, am not. Those books of his I’ve read, or movies I’ve seen I have enjoyed, but I’m not too big on horror. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying I don’t like him, I know he’s massively talented, he just doesn’t write what I read. It would be a very boring world if EVERYONE read his novels though!

Anyway. Discovering the Step Mum loved the book made me want to read it even more – there must be more to it than just writing advice, or a non writer wouldn’t have read and enjoyed it. Fast forward two years and I got it for Christmas. Woo! Fast forward three weeks and I too am loving it.

There are so many things I want to say about it, but if I do that then I’d feel like I’d taken away some of the magic for anyone that hasn’t read it but plans to – there’s no way I could tell a story like Stephen King. But I will share a couple (three actually) of bits that have really stuck with me.

The first is that earlier on he gave a lot of story about him and his wife. He then went on to say – and this is the important bit – that you need to have someone in your life that believes in you, you and your writing. He said that if his wife had at any point (before he sold anything BIG) have stopped encouraging him and maybe suggested giving up, he would have done. But she supported him, and look where he is now. I have that. I’m so lucky that my boyfriend fully backed me, encouraged me and yeah, supported me from when I first said I wanted to do a writing course and write all the way through to now. Even when we split up for a few months last year, he still supported and encouraged me. Sometimes I take it for granted, but I shouldn’t – it’s a wonderful thing I have. I am SO lucky.

Anyway, away from the gushiness!

The second thing that’s stuck with me has made me feel pretty good about my lack of writing right now. Mr King says to write, you need somewhere TO write. Somewhere you can close the door to the outside world and get taken away to the world that’s being created on the pages. Hmm. Just after NaNo finished I moved in with my boyfriend and his housemate. Three of us live in a two bedroom flat. There’s always someone around so I don’t have any of my own space. About this time, I stopped writing. OK, I know you’re thinking I’m making excuses (it did after all take me about six months to start writing again after NaNo 2009 finished) but it’s an interesting thought.

I’ve never really had anywhere that’s My Writing place. I do wonder if I did have somewhere if I’d get more done – especially in these very dry after NaNo months. In a couple of months I’m moving again (joys) this time in with just the boyfriend (genuine joys this time!!). We’re going to get two bedrooms. Only we’ll use one bedroom as an office. Excited? Me? The word doesn’t even begin to describe how I feel about that.

Me not writing leads me on to the third and final thing from the book. Since I was maybe a quarter into the book, I’ve had a strong desire to pick up a pen or open a word document and do some writing. It’s just SO inspiring. However, he’s just taken it up a level. He’s put forward an interesting situation and suggested the readers write it. A challenge is that? My my, that’s something NTWG likes isn’t it. So, as I was cleaning the bathroom (honestly, my life is so exciting isn’t it!) I started thinking about what I was going to write.

I don’t have much of it planned (the kind of idea of it is to prove you don’t need to plan so that’s probably for the best) but I have bits and pieces. And such a strong desire to write it that I can’t wait to finish this blog and get on with it. Isn’t that great!

So there we go, I end this to go write. Ahh, such sweet sweet words. And tomorrow’s Fiction Friday. And I’ve already started writing my piece. Oh today is a good day 🙂

One thought on “Currently Reading: Stephen King’s On Writing

  1. Pingback: Old Book, New Book and Still No Writing « Newtowritinggirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

