Fiction Friday #190

Just a very quick piece here, I don’t even know if it really makes sense because it’s so short, but I started it at the beginning of the week and thought I’d get a chance to carry on and didn’t.

This is two of the teenage main characters from the novel I started during NaNo last year (it seems so weird saying last year when it was only a couple of months ago) Madison and Lucy. Only in The Dating Project it’s Lucy’s first person POV, but this for some reason went 3rd.

The prompt for yesterday was: Sometimes lies can have serious consequences. Describe a time when a lie had major consequences for your character. And this is what Lucy and Madison did with it:

‘It’s a shame because I think you two would have made a good couple.’

‘Us two?’ Madison almost shrieked. ‘Why us two?’

‘Wooh there Maddy, calm down. I know you don’t like him but I just felt there was something there between you.’

‘Bu… Wha..’

‘Why are you so surprised I think that? I asked you if you liked him for a reason.’

‘What reason?’ Madison grabbed Lucy’s arm.

‘Comeon. You Americans aren’t that thick. I asked you cause I thought, oh ok, I knew he liked you.’

‘BUt… Why didn’t you say anything?’ X looked at Madison puzzled.

‘I kind of thought I did. You told me you don’t like him.’

‘But I do!’ Madison shouted. A couple of people at the table behind them turned round and giggled. Madison ignored them. ‘Oh no. I can’t believe if I had have told you I like him, I could be going out with him instead of that bitch Jenna.’

Lucy threw her hands up in frustration. ‘So why did you say no?’

‘I didn’t realise HE liked ME. I thought it was just general chit chat and didn’t want you to know that I’m some loser that fancies people that don’t fancy me back.’

‘But he does. Or did.’

Madison put her head in her hands. ‘I know,’ she muffled through her fingers. ‘I know.’

I know it’s pretty short. And I know it’s not really MAJOR implications, but to Madison it is. Please, let me know what you think. Oh, and remember, I play by the Fiction Friday rules – this is unedited.

4 thoughts on “Fiction Friday #190

  1. Nice work with the dialog. It comes across as a “real” conversation. Madison’s MAJOR implications come across well. You’ve managed to capture her emotions well enough for the reader to sympathize with what a huge mistake the lie is.

    Kudos on following the editing rule. I can’t seem to box up my internal editor when I write. I would probably get a lot more writing accomplished if I could just keep my fingers off the backspace key.

    P.S. Stephen King’s “On Writing” has earned an easily accessible spot on my bookshelf. For me it was eye opening and has become a valuable resource. I hope you’re enjoying it as much as I did.

    • Thank you. It totally doesn’t fit in with the story, but when I thought of it I had to go with it.

      To be honest, I find it much easier to post without editing than having to go back to editing. I HATE editing with a passion – which I don’t think is too good for a writer! I usually never read what I’ve written back before I post it, which I guess makes it easier to post as I don’t notice mistakes etc.

      On Writing IS amazing. I’m loving it. I don’t think I would have started writing again this year if I hadn’t have started reading it. It’s so inspiring. Everything he says seems to make sense! I have a feeling I’ll be referring back to it constantly in the months/years to come!

Leave a Reply

