Starting to Move and BOOKS!

So my big news (totally un writing related) is that I’ve found a flat. I should really say ‘we.’ My boyfriend and I are getting our own place… in 3 weeks. Yay! It’s this cute little flat in an area called Canada Water really really close to the Thames, and almost with a wicked view of Canary Wharf. Nearly. Just 2 weeks of work, a week off, a weekend move then we’re in – awesome.

We have to move out of where we are now about 5 days before we can move into the new flat, so we’ve decided to take the whole week off work, and go back to the midlands to see the parents (they live pretty close, so we can do all of them in the same visit – nice). I’ve already started thinking about the writing I can get done that week.

Yes, you read that – WRITING. I’m fully going to get back into it soon. I’ve got a lot of packing and sorting to do in the next couple of weeks (two weeks yesterday we move out, and yes, I did move about 6 weeks ago, but we’ve got to put our stuff in storage for a week, so I need to pack better!), but I’m going to try to do some. I’ll then have a week of holiday, where I’ll get at least a little done each day – in fact I’ll set myself a challenge of 250 words a day, EVERY day during that week. We move that weekend, and then settle in, so I’ll get my new routine for writing. I can’t wait.

Earlier on today, I unpacked all my books (to get them all in one place rather than about 8 smaller boxes and bags) and put them in piles: fiction, non-fiction and cookery books. There were loads. Tonnes. I should have counted how many there were. I didn’t. But I did the next best thing. Took a picture:

The fiction books are in the huge pile at the front. I’ve read about 6 of them. All the rest are on my TBR pile (which is obviously why I went out and bought a couple more yesterday!). The ones at the back in the blue box and to the left are the non fiction, and the smaller pile on the right are my cookery books. The tiny pile in the bottom right  are the five I’m chucking out. Five. Oh dear!

I our new place we’re going to get a wall to ceiling, length of the room bookcase/shelving unit. I cannot wait to get it and get these all out on show. EXCITING!

I did some writing this morning. I was lying in bed awake because someone had set the alarm, even though we had a day off and I couldn’t get back to sleep. I started thinking about the book I’m reading (Fear No Evil by Allison Brennan) and thinking about how well she does graphic violence scenes. Well enough that every time I get asked how my book is, I say it’s horrible. So, really well. That led me to think I couldn’t do it that well. But then, how do I know? I’ve never tried. So I tried. Typically for me, it turned into a character analysis. Janey was watching her friend get tortured by having her finger chain sawed off (nice eh), but there was only a little about the blood, then it went to why Janey couldn’t run in and help, and how she was feeling. Hmmm. I don’t want to, but I think I should practice this type of writing. You never know where it will come in handy.

One final thing about valentine’s day – although more about books. The man in my life doesn’t go in with the whole valentines day thing. I used to get upset about it, but as he buys me things all the time, takes me out for dinner etc I don’t mind so much any more. He cooked me dinner last night, which was really nice (especially since we’d put an offer in on a flat that day too – I totally took that as my present!), but then at like 22.00 he decided we were going shopping cause he wanted to buy me a book – or two. WOOP! I love 24 hour supermarkets! At first I couldn’t find anything I wanted. Then I found loads. I settled on two though. Fear the Worst by Linwood Barclay and another book that I totally can’t remember. And is now in the bottom, or maybe middle or top, of a sealed box ready to move. Damn. It’s there because I know I can’t read it for a while cause the author’s surname begins with H or M or something, and in my A to Z challenge I’m on B. And want to read another B and maybe two Cs. It’s going to be a while!

3 thoughts on “Starting to Move and BOOKS!

  1. Wow! That’s one big TBR pile. Hmm I haven’t stacked mine up maybe I should keep quiet..LOL I suspect you won’t make it to the bottom as you’ll be adding more to it, but that is not a bad thing. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

