Not Much Writing, But Lots of Excitement (#ROW80 Check-in)

I was just trying to work out why I’ve done no writing or editing this week… but then I realised it’s only Wednesday – and I am about to do some for today. Yesterday I HAD to go shopping (for a dress for a wedding – see essential stuff!) and Monday, I… Well to be honest I can’t rememeber why I didn’t do anything. It possibly had something to do with Gavin and Stacy being on TV and me having not watched any TV for ages.

Today though, I’m going to do some. Just as soon as I’ve finished this. And maybe that other blog I’m working on. And possibly a book review. Then, I promise I’ll do some. Honest.

The reason I’ve got lots of excitement going on is two fold – first I went to an author event on Friday (and you know how excited I get about them) and secondly… are you ready? I started editing Italian Infatuation on Friday. Like actually got a pen out and started scribbling on it. Like proper editing! I only did about half an hour, but that’s half an hour more than I’ve done editing it since I wrote it.

Oh, another really exciting thing, at the author event ‘Girls Night In,’ (I’ll link the blog about it here when I do it) was that Chris (Chrissie) Manby told me she LOVED the name Italian Infatuation. Woop! I really like it too, but to have someone as experienced as Chrissie say she likes it… wow!

The main reason I really wanted to blog today, was that I wanted to share with you my belief that things happen for a reason. Stylist is a free weekly magazine in London for women. I used to get it every Wednesday, and love it. But in October we moved offices and since then I don’t really get it. I don’t know if they don’t give them out at London Bridge or Moorgate (whichever I decide getting off at that day) or if they’ve all been given out by the time I get there, but I never usually get one, and never usually see anyone who has handed them out.

Today, that changed. Today, as soon as I stepped out the station and saw a florescent jacket, I knew. Hopefully the Stylist people have decided Moorgate is a good station to hand them out (mental note to tell @stylistmagazine on Twitter!). I didn’t get a chance to read it until I sat down tonight for dinner, and when I did, imagine how delighted I was when the cover story was about my favourite subject: BOOKS!

Children’s books to be exact. There was an article on ‘The Books We Never Outgrow,’ then a top 10 children’s books countdown. They chose so many good books, some of which I’d forgotten existed (Malory Towers, The Worst Witch anyone?) ,  and some I’d remembered (Anne of Green Gables, The BFG). Anne of Green Gables is actually still on my TBR list now. When I was younger I was addicted to the series, but now, I can’t rememeber it, and I want to be able to remember it. Reading the list made me want to add all the other books to my TBR list too. You know, I may!

The final thing in the article was a 9 point plan of ‘How To Get Your Children’s Book Published,’ which is actually something I’d like to do (you know, once I’ve written it, and published my romance and YA novels!) Seriously, it’s like the magazine was specifically for me today – and totally goes back to what I was saying in the begining – things happen for a reason and I believe someone somewhere wanted me to get a Stylist today for a reason!

Right, I think that’s enough jibba-jabba for today. I was going to say I’ll go and edit (or write another blog, or even just do some writing), but I flicked very quickly onto Twitter and have just seen The Apprentice is on. This will be a will power test!

ROW80 so far: 8,830 w0rds; 30 mins writing course; 30 mins EDITING! Woop!

3 thoughts on “Not Much Writing, But Lots of Excitement (#ROW80 Check-in)

  1. You’re not easily distracted are you??? Hahahahaha.

    Sometimes it’s a matter of just sitting down and doing it. I know, easier said than done. I’m dreading the editing process I’ve got to start tonight. Just keep working on it!

Leave a Reply

