Enjoying Editing (#ROW80 Check-In Sun 29/5)

Thanks to A Round of Words in 80 Days (and Chrissie Manby and Lotte Daley), I started editing my novel a week ago. I’d been putting it off since December. 2009. Right now, I have no idea why! I’m really enjoying doing it. I know it’s going to take a huge amount of time and patience, but you know what, I’m ready and looking forward to it.

I’ve so far done an hour and a half, and that time has shown how incredibly long it is going to take – and how hard it’s going to be. I think my biggest problem is going to be deciding which idea to use. So far I’ve had a couple of things where I cross out what I’ve written and use something else, but then go back and think the first one was better. Sigh. I don’t know.

There are a couple of HUGE things I need to sort out. Like if the MCs are attracted to each other from the beginning (which I originally though they were) or it grows between them. Actually, writing that, I’ve realised I know the answer myself. This is why it’s great having a blog! Maybe if I can blog all my dilemmas, I can solve then as I go.

I’m not getting any further on the MC’s name. I did have an idea yesterday, but I’m not too sure if it’s right or not. I have this romantic idea that when I find her name I’ll KNOW. I don’t know if it happens like that though. I don’t think I’ve ever had this problem with a character before.

Oh, I’m having another character name problem. I thought I knew one of the bridesmaids name’s, but it’s listed as X in the first couple of chapters. I really feel like I need to know it before I carry on, I can’t leave X as a name on draft two! (And yet I can have no name for my MC – go figure!) It means searching through the pages for her name, but she has a really small part, so it’s going to be hard finding where she pops up. Sigh!

I’m sure I’ve got more to write, but I’m dying to get on and edit for a bit before I get ready for a wedding this afternoon (and to be honest, I’m really hungry!), so I must fly.

Hold up, can you believe I just wrote that – I’m dying to get on with my editing! It seems miracles do happen after all!

11 thoughts on “Enjoying Editing (#ROW80 Check-In Sun 29/5)

  1. Hang in there. And I think it’s true that sometimes when we write something down, like in a blog, everything becomes clear.

    I also believe that walking away from a project for awhile, and then returning, helps inspire us with new ideas and bursts of energy. Or so I tell myself!

  2. Glad to hear that you’ve finally started editing! I have found that the farther along I progress in my story, the less “polished” my scenes are becoming… which means I am going to have my work cut out for me when it comes to the ‘edit and revise’ phase. :/

    Sometimes I think naming my characters is one of the hardest steps of writing, at least for me. I feel like Goldilocks wandering around the 3 bears’ cottage — “no, too short… and this one’s off, just slightly, but maybe I like the idea of having a name that starts with a ‘k’…” I now have baby name books, and notebooks filled with names, and lots of mini lists floating around my apartment, but they do not always help.

    Anyway, good luck with the editing this week!

  3. Sounds like you are doing great. I’m sure you’ll discover MC name soon. It will be revealed when you least expect it. Happy editing.

  4. I think we all put some of our works in the closet for at least a few months to a couple of years before finishing it. I know I did. In fact I cringed when I did my very first edit on my first novel. When it was almost half way done, that was when I realized it was not as hard as I thought it was going to be.

    Character name: sometimes I pick up a phone book and pick names from there at random. But I have to watch myself, sometimes everyone seems to have their name starting with the same letter. (LOL)

    Good Luck with your edit on this coming week.

    • Thanks for your comment Linda. It’s so good to hear that other people take time out before getting on with the editing process. Hopefully it will get a lot easier as I go on – it is my first novel to edit after all!

  5. I once saw a suggestion about looking at a baby’s name book or website for inspiration on names.think on websites you can look at ‘most popular’ lists and also you can get meanings for names.

Leave a Reply

