A to Z Challenge – The Struggle with ‘I’ and ‘J’

I finished A.M. Home’s This Book Will Save Your Life last night. I enjoyed it, but in the same was as American Gods (Neil Gaiman) – I have no idea why. Unlike AG, I didn’t spend the whole book wondering what the hell was going on, I spent it wondering what the point was. But, I still enjoyed it, and I got to the ‘can’t put it down’ stage. Weird.

My friend saw I was reading it and commented on it ‘Nothing happens.’ It’s kind of true, but I still enjoyed it.

So that brings me on to letter I. Let me tell you, there aren’t that many authors whose surname begins with I. In Waterstones book store I found a couple. One book slightly interested me, but not all that much. Not enough to spend just £3 on it. 

Today I went to the library. Barbican library is a pretty big one in the heart of LondonCity. In ‘Fiction,’ ‘Romance,’ ‘Sci-fi,’ ‘Fantasy,’ ‘Young Adult’ and ‘Large Print’ I found about 5 novels. None of them really leapt at me. I wondered about for over half an hour and in the end couldn’t decide between 2 – Graham Ison’s ‘Lost or Found’ and Kazuo Ishiguro’s A Pale View of Hills – so I got them both. I still can’t decide. I think I know which I’d prefer, but I’m not 100%. I almost feel like I should read the one I’m not as drawn to, just to read something totally different to normal – isn’t that the point of this challenge? Doing something different.

I don’t know. But I’ll let you know as soon as I do.

I also did something naughty. I picked up another book. It wasn’t too naughty, it was letter J – which will be my next book, but I already had a J. I also already had a J in mind to buy. Uhhh, oops. But the J I have and the J I wanted to buy are by the same author as the J I picked up today – Lisa Jewell. I’ve had After The Party for over a year, but it is a signed copy from when I met her so part of me doesn’t want to read it and mess it up (plus when I got it I was going through a break up and couldn’t handle the idea of a couple breaking up OR staying together in the book I was reading, so couldn’t read it then. Having said that, we’ve been back together 8 months, so that’s a pretty rubbish excuse!). The one I want to buy is her new one The Making of Us. When I met Lisa she was just finishing this and told us all about it, so I’ve spent a year wanting to read it. Which is why I picked up The Truth About Melody Browne today.

I figure if I decide to read After the Party, or buy the other one, I can just take this one back to the library, no worries. This is what I tell myself.

I’ve not done any writing or editing for days and days. I meant to last night, but was just too tired to get any motivation at all. I’m going out tonight, but might stay back at work for half an hour before I go to do some writing. It’s better doing that than saying I’ll do it when I get in – very doubtful.

3 thoughts on “A to Z Challenge – The Struggle with ‘I’ and ‘J’

  1. I love the idea of this challenge..think I will try it next year. Can you re-read books you have already read e.g. I would be hard pushed to choose which Marian Keyes book to re-read for ‘k’ or is the idea you read completely new books from authors you haven’t really read before?

    • The good thing about it, is that there aren’t really any rules – I guess if you want to re-read a book, there’s nothing stopping you. I’m doing A-Z author’s surname, you could also do A-Z title! My plan was to use it to discover new authors, but I’ve mostly just been going through my shelf at home with a few new ones thrown in from time to time.
      I’m really glad I’m doing it, but I won’t be doing it again – I’m being really strict with myself and only letting myself read books in alphabetical order, which is sometimes annoying if I really want to read a book that’s not the next letter. I’d suggest trying it though, I am enjoying it. Plus it’s pushing me to read more – I’ve got 6 1/2 months left to read 18 books – eek!

  2. I do think I should expand the authors I read and as I am in a long distance relationship I have many a long coach trip on which I can read…I have read 34 books already this year! I do believe to be a writer you need to be a reader but I take it too far and still never sit down and write!

Leave a Reply

