ROW80 Check-In 13th July and A New Plan

Just a very quick blog cause I’m really tired and could do with an early night.

I’ve just started my piece for Fiction Friday this week. I know, I know, it’s totally procrastinating writing Holiday, but I was really tired after work, and didn’t want to have to do something that required too much thought. At the moment Holiday is requiring a lot of thought.

I could do with some time to just sit down and think about what I’m doing it. After work I just seem to be too tired. I don’t seem to have any time at weekends. Maybe I’ll take a day off work in a few weeks. NO, scrap that, I want to be making progress on this in the next week.

This weekend I don’t think I’ll get much done. We’ve got 3 day tickets to Lovebox festival. It’s in London, so we’re coming home each night, but will probably be getting home, going to bed, then getting up and going back. I’ve got Monday off, but think that will be spent recovering!

At some point anyway, I need to make a start on it. Or plan it more, or do whatever the hell I’m going to be doing on it.

Because, I have a plan.

In 2009 I was writing Holiday. Then November came and I discovered NaNoWriMo. 30 days, 50,000 words, a new project. I couldn’t carry on with Holiday. Fast forward to June/July 2010. I started writing Holiday again (I think it was about then). November came again, and NaNo hit again. What could I do? Not Holiday I can tell you.

You see the pattern here? I can’t do the same this year. But, NaNo is only 3 1/2 months away. I refuse to give up Holiday for NaNo for a 3rd year. But, I HAVE to do NaNo again. How can I get round this? Weeeeellllll. I could always… Um… Oh… How about finish Holiday before November.

Could I?

About 40,000 words in 3 and a half months? Oh, I so could. Couldn’t I? I could you know. I’m going to. I AM GOING TO FINISH DRAFT ONE OF HOLIDAY BY 31ST OCTOBER!!!

Anyway, back to ROW80. I’ve done some writing today (455 words). Yesterday I kind of didn’t do anything. Monday I edited. Not too bad going. I just worry about this weekend. Have to make up for it tomorrow (although I’ve got plans. Maybe during lunch).

How are you guys doing if you’re playing?

8 thoughts on “ROW80 Check-In 13th July and A New Plan

  1. Hey! We could be 40,000 word count buddies! One of my ROW80 goals is 40,000 toward an urban fantasy I have in mind. I’m still outlining, so have not begun my 40,000. What do you say? Huh? Want to write it by September 22?? I’ll cheer you on!

    • Sorry for the late reply. I’d love to be 40k buddies, but I think I need the extra month to get to it. I’ll definitely cheer you on though. I hope a week after this comment you’ve started writing…

  2. Love the new plan of finishing Holiday by the 31st of October. You are obviously good with deadlines if you have completed NaNo the last two years!

    • I’m not too sure I love it. It’s quite a deadline to give myself. But nothing compared to NaNo I guess.
      I love NaNo, I’m so good working with a goal or deadline, and I’m so competitive I feel I HAVE to finish! If only I could be like that the other 11 months of the year. Have you thought about taking part?

  3. If you can do NaNo, you can finish Holiday. NaNo puts extreme pressure on you…ROW80 doesn’t. I finished NaNo two years in a row, but I’ve chosen not to do it again. My husband doesn’t like me when I do NaNo. LOL. But it’s great for some people, and you seem to like doing it, so go for it. Because you’ll have Holiday done before then, right? 🙂 Good luck!

    • Thanks Lauralynn – your comments are always so encouraging! I always work well when I’ve got a goal or a deadline, like NaNo. I need to feel that ROW80 IS putting pressure on me or I’ll not get anything done. You’re right though, I will be finished with Holiday by November – that’s my goal!

Leave a Reply

