Blog Action Day 2011 #BAD11 – FOOD

I am proud to take part in Blog Action Day Oct 16, 2011 www.blogactionday.org

Blog Action Day! Food! How good can you get??

Blog Action Day (BAD11) is where bloggers from around the world join to spread the word about a worthy cause. In the past, topics have included Environment, poverty, climate change and water, and this year they’re spreading the word about food. They may have chosen this topic as it coincides with World Food day.

The BAD website gives a list of ideas of what you could write about for this topic, including – my favourite food, famine, organic, food memories, slow food/fast food, malnutrition and on and on. I’ve decided just to ramble on in my usual NewToWritingGirl style about my feelings to food. I’ve been really looking forward to writing this blog, but now I’m here, I have no idea what I’m going to write. Not that this is different to normal blogs of mine – when do I ever start knowing what I’m going to write?

Right now, food is one of my favourite things ever, as well as a bug bear. I am presently about a stone heavier than I was this time last year, the heaviest I’ve ever been. The long and the short of it is that I just love food. Typically mostly bad food.

By bad food I mean the usual, chocolate, cake, chips, burgers – you know, all the crap. Luckily for me, I also love lots of good foods – like salad and fruit, but sometimes, you know you just need some rubbish food!

My weight gain probably started last year when I moved in with my boyfriend. We were so excited to be living together, and in a new area, we did things like order in pizza, chinese, curry – all really high in calories and fat. One or the other of us would surprise the other with their favourite chocolate/sweets on our way home. Or, I’d make a cake.

The problem is, we haven’t really got out of this habit. Although I’m trying to diet now, we still had pizza (with all the sides) last weekend. I can’t put my hand on my heart and say we won’t this week either.

But, I hate myself for this. And for having chocolate one day. And for not being able to resist the biscuits or cake someone’s brought in to work from home. 

As much as I hate myself for it, I can’t stop it.

I have a theory why. I hate my job at the moment. Like totally can’t stand it, it bores me. But I can’t see myself going anywhere in the very near future (longer future, yes, but not right now). I think I eat out of boredom at work. Not just boredom though, almost to make myself feel better – work is so horrible and I’m so unhappy that I let myself have some chocolate or cake to cheer myself up.

Of course none of this is true today. Today’s been a good day at work. This morning flew, then I went to the pub with my boss. LARGE bacon cheeseburger, chips and a pint and 1/2 of beer, I kind of regret it. Why did I eat that? Who knows! It sounded better that the healthy alternative (salmon, which actually sounded really good).

I’m trying to change, but I can’t see how. I’m hoping to join the gym next month (or maybe December, I’m not too sure if joining during NaNoWriMo is a great idea?!?!), so really hoping that will be a turn around in my eating habits too. We can but hope.

When I think about it, which I probably wouldn’t have done on my own, but as I’m doing this for BAD I am, I’m lucky. I’m lucky that I get to choose if I want to eat some chocolate, cake, crisps, chips. I’ve got a choice between burger or salmon. If I want I can have someone’s biscuits or cakes they bring in to work. There are people all around the world that don’t get that choice.

I hate to admit it, but right now I couldn’t tell you where has a famine on. I haven’t watched the news for ages (the down side of doing so much writing), but I do know there are people who don’t get this choice living not far from me. I wouldn’t need to travel to Africa or Asia, to find people starving, I see them in London all the time.

I am lucky. I shouldn’t complain that I have too much to eat, but I’m human, and it’s what we do. Right or wrong. (wrong!). Maybe though, after writing this, I’ll think about the people who don’t have a choice… I don’t know how that will help me, and it won’t help them, but it’s a step in the right direction!

Read other blogger’s blogs about food for #BAD11 here.

4 thoughts on “Blog Action Day 2011 #BAD11 – FOOD

  1. This was a really interesting read! I have a similar relationship with food in a find it hard to resist way. I lost loads of weight a couple of years ago and lost 5 stone (man that was hard work!) but I have let all the good habits slip and have put half of it back on (I hope not more than half!).

    It is something constantly on my mind and something I think I will have issues with for life. It is definately something I want to get under control.

    • At least you’ve only put back half of it – some people put it all straight back on – and more! Well done for losing that much in the first place, it’s amazing!
      I know that constantly on your mind thing, I have the same. sucks doesn’t it. Least we have our writing to take our minds off it! 😉

  2. Ah the too much to eat vs people who have nothing to eat guilt trip.

    I found your cute Blog on the Bloggers Action Day site and shall revisit. I mentioned in my own post that a thought should also be spared for those with a love/hate relationship with food. You see its either feast or famine isn’t it? So very hard to strike the balance…

    I exercise like a demon but eat like a piggy too. Today spring is in the air in my neck of the woods – so on the diet goes again. Twelve hours in and still on track…well its a start. Good luck with your journey.x

Leave a Reply

