Check In Sunday 23rd #ROW80 OR What I’ve Not Done This Week

Another late check in. Sigh. Still not my fault though, we’ve still not got the internet. But, we’re going to be getting it soon, along with a nice shiny new TV and phone package (I hope). Of course we’ll probably get that in November during NaNo so I won’t have time to check in (or much less time to blog anyway).

There’s almost no point in this check in – I’ve not done anything. No, that’s not true, I’ve not done much. I think I did some writing on Thursday night. I believe (??) I did about 800 words. That is literally all I’ve done in the last week. I have been beating myself up about it, but had a realisation yesterday: I’m just about to start NaNo (in a week – WEEK?!!?) where I HAVE to write 1,667 words a day to keep up. Their rules, not like the 500 I’ve set myself in this challenge. I’m worried about NaNo – really worried. For the first time doing it, I’m not feeling too positive. So, because of that, and how stressed I’m going to be in November, I’ve decided to let myself off the last week.

I just don’t want to push myself to catch up the words I’ve missed and drain myself doing that when I’m about to start NaNo and need the energy for that.

I’m struggling to think when I’m going to write early this week. I’m out for dinner tonight, then I’ve got an ill boyfriend (pulled his back so can’t move kind of ill) at home so need to cook etc for him when I get in. Tomorrow I’m going out and then Wednesday I’m out too for the NaNo kick off party (woo!). And then we’re heading for the weekend, when I’m at a wedding (probably getting drunk so writing off Sunday). I’m getting a headache thinking about it!

And to increase the headache a little more – I’ve done pretty much no planning for my NaNo novel. Eek! I know the basic premise, but I don’t know how it’s going to end, what happens or anything. I don’t even know if it’s going to be chick lit, or YA. I think chick lit, but something makes me think it would be cute if it was YA! I need some serious planning time. But when?

I need a plan! I need a plan because past NaNos show I do. OK, so I’m only basing this on 2 years, but that’s enough for me.

NaNo 2009 I had a pretty good plan of what I was going to do, planned day by day, not as much as scene by scene, but broken down pretty well. And I knew how it was going to end, and all the twists in it.

NaNo 2010 I had a rough idea of what I was doing. I ‘won’ yeah, (I think I got to 53k) BUT that 50k was just the beginning of it. It’s a YA novel, so should only be about another 20k or something, and I was only just getting into it. Some day I may go back and rewrite it, but I wouldn’t hold my breath. Which is a shame because I think it’s quite a nice idea.

NaNo 2011 – I need to plan. See why.

So at some point in the next 7 days, I need to plan a novel. And try to write 500 words a day. Obviously the 500 words are taking a bit of a back burner.

I also need to totally face the fact that I’m not finishing ‘Holiday’ before NaNo starts. Damn. I’m quite upset about that. I really wanted to finish it before I start yet another project. My laptop dying was a sign that I couldn’t complete it though. About 20k words are saved on it, and nowhere else. My other half’s dad might be able to fix it, but we’re not going to be seeing him until next month (if not Christmas), and I couldn’t afford to get it fixed.

I have however done a lot more planning for it, and it feels like it’s coming more together than before, which is so good. I’m going to try to focus on that, rather than the dismay that I’ve failed another goal.

5 thoughts on “Check In Sunday 23rd #ROW80 OR What I’ve Not Done This Week

  1. Well done for getting 800 words in. That’s ace Mrs. 🙂
    I agree. I’m not worrying about the days I’ve missed. It’s just going to hamper the days ahead. You are going to have weeks where you’re not going to get as much done as you’d like. I keep telling myself that too. 🙂
    xxx

  2. Please if I may ask a question of you for those participating in NaNo 2011. Since you said you probably won’t blog, I wonder if very many will? And those who do blog will anyone read it? I cannot participate because I will be totally tied up in a big chunk of November. But then, why post if so many will be to busy?

    • That is a very good question – sorry for the late reply, I’ve been thinking about it for a couple of days.
      I guess the reason I will be blogging is more for me than anyone else. I’m not saying I don’t love getting views and comments, because I do (I stalk my stats like crazy), but I find blogging is a way of getting my thoughts in order and it makes me more productive – even if I’m just writing for myself (which luckily isn’t that often).
      Will people read blogs? Well, looking at my stats in 2010 and 2009 I can see a massive drop in views to my blog in November, but I don’t know if that’s down to me blogging less and getting less views because of it, or because people are too busy.
      Thanks for the visit, and making me think about the answer 🙂

  3. I agree with Laura, it is hard but I would let any disappointments about the past week go if you can so you can move forward. And I think focusing on planning and not so much writing is probably a good plan as it will help you feel better and more positive about next Tuesday.

    Great to hear you are going to a NaNo kick off party, that will get you pumped up! Hope you have a great week.

Leave a Reply

