NaNo Plotting

After my blog on Monday about not writing, I went home to write. Wouldn’t you know it though, boyfriend was on the laptop watching old TV shows. Can’t complain it’s his laptop. When he (finally – after we’d had dinner, I’d done washing and cleaned the kitchen) gave it to me for writing, I decided I didn’t want to write ‘Holiday,’  I wanted to plan my NaNo novel.

I’m now the proud owner of 4 or 5 scribbled A4 pages of ideas. I moved a character name about (Nathan is so much more a boyfriend’s name than another man’s), found other ideas for plot and brainstormed titles. I’m quite happy with my progress.

I think I’m there with the title, but not 100% sure. I’m not very good at titles. It took me so long to come up with The Dating Project last year (in the end I loved the title, but it took me so long to get there). Italian Infatuation actually came to me before I even had too much of an idea about the book. That was easy, but it’s not been easy since. Jeez, I’m still using the working title of ‘Holiday’ for my other novel. 3 years in and I can’t think of anything better. And I have been trying!

Although I’ve not done any actual words this week, I feel happier that I’m making progress on NaNo novel planning. It’s helped me feel a little more relaxed about the daunting task ahead. 1,667 words a day? What am I doing? Surely doing it twice before is enough punishment for one person?

It’s the NaNo Kick-Off Party in London tomorrow. Woop! I actually thought it was tonight until this morning when I double checked where it was! Oops! Lucky I did check! It’s good that it’s tomorrow, it means I can go to the gym tonight (I got a 3 day free pass for one round the corner from work!), then go home and do some more plotting. Or maybe ‘Holiday’ writing.

By tomorrow I want to have decided on the novel’s name. I’ve made the decision that it’s going to be an adult novel (I was toying with the idea of YA – I think it’s going to be better as an adult one, more ideas for conflict in it) so the next goal is a title. Then I’ll think more about the content. And the ending. Maybe just the middle – I know how it’s going to end!

In other news, I’ve just started a new novel – Die for You by Lisa Unger. I’m at the beginning (well page 20) but already I’ve been sucked in. There are so many questions already! Brilliant.

I’d never heard of Lisa Unger before I went to the library last week and looked for a ‘U.’ This is why I’m loving this A to Z Reading Challenge – there is no way I would have found her without it, and from what I’m reading so far, she’s an author I want to know!

Right, I’m off to visit some more ROW80er’s blogs. Catch them here.

11 thoughts on “NaNo Plotting

  1. Yay for NaNo planning! Glad you are getting some ideas down…I have about three different notebooks on the go an scribble notes on bits of paper tucked inside them….I hope to become more organised as time goes on!

    Enjoy the kick off party an happy writing or planning over the coming days!

    • Thanks Em.
      That’s a lot of planning – my 5 or so pages sounds piddley next to that. But then my novel is based in 2011 (12?) with people about my age – not all that much research needed (there’s a reason it’s set today!). Acutally I need to spend time looking round restaurants, bars and shops in Greenwich – it’s a hard life!
      Hope you’re week is going well 🙂

  2. Thanks for the comment on my blog! I think weekly goals sound like the way to go. Glad they’ve been working for you; hoping I’ll have good results, too.

    Good luck with NaNo!

  3. So happy to hear that you’ve got ideas brewing for Nano! I saw on Twitter today that the London kick-off went well, and I’m so excited for you. We don’t seem to have much of a regional network where I live, which is a shame. I’ll be depending much more on my online buddies. 😀

    Good luck figuring out a title, and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

