Writing… Yep I’ve Done Some

For the first time in what seems like months, but is probably only just over a week, I did some writing last night. And, not just a little bit – I managed 580 something words. Woop! The best thing is they came pretty easy to me. Double woop!

I know 580 is nowhere near the NaNo daily word count of 1,667 words, but it’s given me a little more hope that I can do it (I know I can do it, I’ve got two years under my belt showing that I can do it – I’ve just been scared about it this year). Of course it’s also the pages of planning that I did the other day that are helping to remove the fear.

I’ve got the NaNo Kick Off Party to go to tonight. I’ve been really looking forward to it, but now it’s here, I’m not so much. It’s the walking into a room of people I don’t know (or hardly know) on my own thing. I know I’m being silly, the London WriMos are brilliant friendly people, but there’s still a little fear there. I’m going to make myself go regardless. Writing it here makes me HAVE to go, I can’t write about it today then admit tomorrow I didn’t. Plus, if I don’t I’ll kick myself afterwards.

Just in case I needed another reason to go (or not to…?) if I didn’t I’d probably end up going shopping and buying a new pair of shoes. So really I need to go to stop myself from doing that!!!

I’ve got an hour before I need to leave work for the Kick off Party (see I am going) and was planning to do some writing or plotting in this hour. Stupidly, I forgot to download (upload?) the scene I’m working on from the laptop, and can’t remember where I got to. I also left the notebook I’m working on plotting in at home. Bad morning.

I figure it’s easier to plot without seeing the previous page, so I’ll go with that one. A bit of characterisation I think. Or… I don’t know. I did have another idea for a twist in it today, so I’ll get that down – hopefully that will lead to more ideas.

I’m tempted to take this weekend off writing and plotting – I’ll be hard at it for the next four weeks with NaNo, but I don’t think I will – not officially. I think if I want to do some, I will, and if not, I won’t beat myself up about it (how often do I say that?!).

Totally off the subject of writing etc – I went to the gym last night. It’s the first time for about a year when I cancelled my membership because I was moving, and haven’t found a new one. It sounds a little crazy, but going reminded me how much I loved it. I really do. I’ve only got a 3 day pass, so it’s not the shape of things to come, but I think I’m going in the right direction.

When the 3 day pass is up, I’m going to get one for another gym – then decided which I like the most and join. I was loving the idea last night when I was there, but then when I left I started wondering what the hell I’m thinking.

I don’t have enough time to do everything I want to now – and I’m going to throw another activity at myself. One that will probably take up 4-5 hours a week. That’s 4-5 hours less of writing, or blogging, or reading, or whatever. But, it will be good for my health, and my weight loss, and my training for a 10 mile run, and all that, so I’m going to do it.

I kind of hope it will make me more productive. If I have less time hopefully I’ll be more productive with it. That’s the plan anyway! Besides, I used to walk home from work a couple of times a week, but now it’s too dark to. If I don’t start doing some exercise I’m going to start putting some weight on – not something I want to happen.

If I don’t get a blog in tomorrow (which is doubtful – I think I need to go shoe shopping at lunch, then am gyming it after work) have a great weekend all.

Leave a Reply

