NaNo Kick-Off Party London

Last night was the Kick-Off Party for NaNoWriMo which starts on Tuesday – eek!

I was a little apprehensive about going, I hate walking into things like that on my own. What I forgot was that I knew a load of people from NaNo last year, so walked in knowing people! Lots of people. I felt like someone walking into a room of friends I hadn’t seen for a while. Well a table or two of friends and a room of people I didn’t know.

The thing with it is that everyone is in the same position – most came alone and a lot didn’t know anyone else. We were saying how great it is that there is never an awkward silence at things like this, because there’s always something to talk about – how many times you’ve done NaNo, what you’re book is about, the events you’re going to be going to – it’s great.

Last year I went to the launch party. It was the first time ever I’d spoken to anyone about writing, well spoken to writers about writing, it was great, and it was still the same last night. There’s this energy among the writers (and maybe a little alcohol!) that gives off this buzz. I guess it’s also excitement – 50,000 words in 30 days – if that doesn’t get you excited, I wonder what would!

For the first time since I came up with the idea, I started discussing what my novel’s about. I think I’d run it by my boyfriend previously, but no one else. It had quite a positive reaction, people who I wasn’t expecting to be interested said it sounded good. Maybe they were just saying it, but maybe they actually meant it. It’s given me a little more faith in it!  

I found sleeping a bit of a struggle last night. Different ideas for my novel kept going through my head. I’ve got this main idea, that I need to write down cause it’s pretty good! But other ideas kept coming to me, and I was going over them. I’m pretty tired now because of it – probably nothing compared to how tired I’m going to be for the next month!

Oh nearly forgot (thanksLenafor reminding me), I’m pretty sure I’ve got the title of the novel. Or the ‘working title’ anyway. It’s going to be ‘The Man of My Dreams.’ I’m not sure if it’s a little corny, or if it needs a question mark or anything, but for now, it works. And it’s better than ‘Holiday,’ so that’s good!

Have a good weekend everyone. If you’re taking part in the NaNo mentalism enjoy your last ‘free’ weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

