NaNoWriMo – The Last Week

Well, the last 8 days anyway. My plan is to finish on Monday. I don’t know why, but it is. However, my plan was to write 6k over the weekend and I managed about 3k. Sigh.

That and a poor performance on Monday night meant I was 800 behind yesterday. That sucked. But I went to a write in last night, and almost caught up. I just need to get an extra 170 in today and that’s me back on track. Back on track to finish on Wednesday (30th) though. If I was to write everyday I’d need 2,249 words a day. BUT I don’t have the weekend. The boyfriend is 30 on Saturday, so I’m taking it off writing. That means I need to get 3,374 a day.

Oh. That’s quite a lot (I only just worked that out – I’m actually surprised).

Well, it’s an idea. It might work.

I’ve got both Friday and Monday off work. Friday is mainly to make a birthday cake for my other half and other birthday type things. Monday is to spend a day with him (and t o visit the new library, but I only just found out it was opening then). I’m sure I can squeeze out more than normal those days, so that I don’t have to do that many today or tomorrow (I’ll still aim for it though).

My boyfriend pointed out the other day, that I haven’t had any major writing days. The most I’ve written in 1 day is about 2,600, a lot yes, but not a MASSIVE amount.

In year one, 3 days away from 30th, I was on about 32k. I was convinced I was going to fail, and was gutted about it, even though it really wasn’t my fault. I’d had an operation and stupidly been under the impression I’d be able to do lots and lots of writing. In real life, I was actually really ill for most of the two weeks I was off work, so got very little writing done. Still, I was gutted.

Along to my rescue came my boyfriend. He was convinced I could do it. 6,000 words a day, that was nothing (that was a whole lot – I’d never written more than about 2.5/3 in one day). I needed more convincing though, so he said if I ‘won,’ he’d buy me a Wii.

Obviously that was quite a good incentive. That day I wrote 7,000. The day after 6,000 then the following 7,000. I finished NaNoWriMo on 30th November with about 50,200 (or something).

Moral of this story? I can finish on Monday. Maybe I should stretch myself and have a 6k day on Friday, or even Monday. I know I can, so why not? Hmmm. Maybe.

I think I’m about to get stuck though. Like I said I’m at about 36k. That’s pretty much halfway (I’m round about aiming for 70k, a respectable length for a first novel in the chick-lit/romance genre). I know what’s going to happen in the last 10/15/20k. I’m just not too sure what is going to happen NOW. I really need to jump about 2/3 weeks, but don’t think that’s what I want to do.

I’m going to start struggling soon. And that soon might be tonight.

I’m semi tempted to just skip onto the next big bit, then go back at the end and add more in. But, I really like doing it in order.

Agh! I don’t know. But I’m sure I’ll work it out!

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – The Last Week

  1. Love your ‘wheeling and dealing’ with yourself! Whatever it takes to light the fire of ambition, right? Ha!

    Best of luck finishing NaNo on time! I’m sure you can do it. I have about 10K left to write still myself. Oops…I’d better get to it, then.

    Have a great Thanksgiving (if you’re in the U.S.)!

  2. You can definitely do it! Where there’s a will, there’s a way, and you definitely seem to have the will. And you never know until you try, and insert whichever other various encouraging cliche you like most here. : )

    You seem to have a really good grip on how you’ve done so far and what you’re capable of, so I definitely think if you dedicate yourself to finishing Monday, you’ll totally finish on Monday. I’ll be rooting for you. You can do it!

  3. I definately think you can do it! Your NaNo history credentials suggest you can! Maybe your boyfriend needs to offer you another brilliant incentive to really spurn you on!

    I know what you mean about writing in order….helps my brain that way and I think it ensure I won’t miss anything. Having said that I know I am goign to have to go back and tweak as I added in bits towards the end that need building up…..I hope I made notes of all of them!

    Good luck over the next few days!

  4. Sounds like you just need the right motivation 😉 Struggling is part of the journey. Just push through. Write what you can. It doesn’t have to be perfect. Words first. Masterpiece later. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

