NaNoWriMo – The Last Three Days

Possibly more exciting than NaNo (only possibly though), I’m currently sat in the new Canada Water (suburb of London) Library. It’s so nice. Well, so far, I’ve only really registered and then sat at a computer. I’ve heard there are 40,000 books here. 40,000. That’s awesome. It’s obviously new and clean and just exciting. Except for the constant noise of childern crying and stuff. Ha.

As we still don’t have the internet at home (I know, we will sort it sometime soon – I’m told anyway), I’ve been set a challenge by the boyfriend of coming here after work a few days a week and blogging. He tells me I don’t blog enough (like writing 1,667 words a day gives me that much free time to blog), which I kind of know. It’s an idea. I used to sometimes stay behind at work and blog, but work’s been so terrible recently that at 5.30 I’m outta there. So maybe his idea is a good one.

Boyfriend may not be getting anything he wants in the near future – he’s just pointed out a book on the nearest shelf to us (implying I could get it) ‘Creative Writing for Dummies.’ Hmmmm. Yes, a little insulted! Although if there’s other writing books on the same shelf… Funny how without looking I found a computer right next to the writing books 😉

Ok, back to the task in hand – NaNo.

Remember last week, I had all these great plans for writing in the last week? The plan was 3k on Thursday, 5k on Friday then 2k today (having the weekend off for boyfriend’s birthday). That would take me to a win TODAY.

Yeah, um. That didn’t happen. On Thursday instead of going home after work, I went for work drinks. And got, well lets just say drunk. Not sure if it describes it well enough, but it’s what we’ll go with. I went home and tried to write… but the red squiggle under at least half of the 100 words changed my mind. Friday I was really hungover and didn’t even turn the laptop on. Damn.

I’d always planned to have the weekend off, but woke up on Sunday just feeling tired. At 2pm I put on Twitter that it would be good to get a 5k day in, and enough people told me I could do it that I decided to give it a go. Until the hangover kicked in an hour or so later. I got 1k in like 2 1/2 hours. Not great. But I persisted on and off, then at about 11pm I got a proper ‘second wind’ which took my total for the day to 3057. I am so ridiculously proud of that.

My plan for today is another 5k, then 2 tomorrow. That means I will win tomorrow. The problem with that is that it’s now 5.30pm an I’ve done nothing. Oops. Still, all I need is a good  run and I can do that in no time… Uh… At the end of the day though, I only really NEED to do 2.5k for the next 3 days and I win. I can’t believe I’m saying this but 2.5k is pretty easy to get in (as long as I don’t do anything after work other than cook and write).

Do you remember the beginning of October, when ROW80 Round 4 began? I planned for 500 words a day and was worried about getting it. 2 months later I’m saying another 2,000 on top of that is doable. How things change.

I’ve also decided on my plan for the next few months.

Usually after NaNo, I stop writing in December. I think I need the break after the 50,000 the month before. It then takes me another 6 odd months to properly get back into it – not great for getting novels finished! This year is going to be different. In December I’m going finish ‘The Man of My Dreams.’ I’m then going to give it a month’s break in January, but not stop writing then. I’m going to write short stories and stuff. I think I’ll probably go back and use a load of old Fiction Friday prompts or random word generators to give me ideas (prompts work pretty well for me).

In February I’m going to pick ‘The Man of My Dreams’ back up and edit the first three chapters in 6 ish weeks. Then… At the end of March… I’m going to try to find an agent. Yep, I’m going to start submitting it to agents. Eek. Agh! MAAAHHHH!

I’m scared. But, if I’m going to do it… I need to make a start. I think 2012 is the right year.

It shows how much I like ‘The Man of My Dreams,’ doesn’t it. I’m confident about it, and do think (having not read any back though) it’s the best thing I’ve written. I guess if you constantly improve, something I’m writing now is bound to be better than something I wrote 2 years ago.

Anyway, if I’m going to get 5,000 words in tonight, I need to crack on with it. Plus, we all know I NEED to go and look at books. I’m surprised I’ve survived half an hour in a library and NOT looked at them already.

How’s everyone else’s NaNo/ROW80/other project going?

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – The Last Three Days

  1. Wow! A new library when all the ones I know are reducing their hours…it must be a sign!

    And so so exciting about 2012 year being the year you submit to agents, scary but exciting! Is ‘The Man of My Dreams’ your NaNo project this year? I am trying to think about my next steps and seeing you so full of plans makes me not want to waste December. I need a plan and I need it now! Good luck with the writing tonight!

Leave a Reply

