Fear No Evil by Allison Brennan Review

In cyberspace, no one can hear you scream.

Instead of preparing for her high school graduation, Lucy Kincaid is facing a vicious execution. Lured by an online predator, she’s destined to die horribly – live on the Internet – while hundreds of heartless viewers watch and vote on the method of her slaughter. Her family’s only hope rests with Kate Donovan, an FBI agent who took on the same sadistic killer once before . . . and lost. Blamed for another girl’s gruesome murder, Kate’s been fighting to clear her name. But she agrees to join the hunt for Lucy – and reluctantly steps back into her worst nightmare.

With time running out before the bloody webcast airs, Kate teams up with forensic psychiatrist Dillon Kincaid to get inside the head of her twisted quarry, zero in on his chamber of horrors, and reach Lucy before grim history repeats itself and another innocent’s brutal death goes hideously live.

Face the fear. Speak its name. See its face.

I’d never heard of Allison Brennan, but my lovely boyfriend won this book for me in a Twitter competition. It was dubbed as Romantic Suspense, which kind of put me off it – I like my romance, and I like my suspense… but mixing them? (I was totally forgetting that I love Sandra Brown at this stage – and hers are definitely Romantic Suspense). I had to read the book though for three reasons: It was a prize, tt was letter B for my A to Z Challenge, and it’s a Mystery/Suspense novel that fits with that challenge.

If I’m completely honest, I actually read it at the beginning of the year, and loved it, but just hadn’t got round to reviewing until now.

The book was the third in a series, so I was worried that I was going to have missed half the story by missing the first 2 novels, but it turns out it’s a series, but each focusing on a different member of the Kincaid series. Missed nothing.

I can’t explain how much I loved this book. It was very graphic in some places, so I wouldn’t read if you have a weak stomach, but other than that I can say nothing bad about it (I don’t even think that was bad). I was immediately caught up in it and loved the main characters almost from the beginning. I couldn’t put it down once I got into it – there were way too many late nights because of it!

I can’t wait to read the other books in the series (which I most definitely will do – the only reason I haven’t this year is because I could only read 1 B in the A-Z Challenge and I wasn’t sure I’d have time to read many more outside the challenge), and to be honest, all her other books. She has A LOT (have a look at all of them here)!

Seriously, go buy it or rent it from the library. You will not regret it!

One thought on “Fear No Evil by Allison Brennan Review

Leave a Reply

