Another Bad Weekend

I was quite tempted not to write this blog, and to skip yesterday’s check-in for ROW80. But, that would be cheating in my book, so here goes.

Thinking about it more, my weekend wasn’t THAT bad. Just bad on the important things. My goals are:

Eat less than 1400 cals

Exercise more than 30 minutes

Write 500-1000 words

Read (still not decided on a measurement for this).

This is how I did (I know it would be a lot easier if I had the chart, but I forgot to copy or send it to myself at work this morning).

Eating – Pie & Mash Friday lunch, Chinese Friday night and a bucket full of vodka (all with DIET coke though…) so not even going to go there. Saturday I had a crepe at the market, then Indian for dinner (most calorific one I could – Korma!), again lets not go there. For breakfast on Sunday I had a poppdum and popcorn. I made lasagna for dinner with lots of veg, but also had a ton of bonbons. Lets just forget this goal this weekend!

Exercise – this isn’t AS bad. In fact probably pretty good. On Friday, after work and before the pub I walked to the gym, then spend half an hour there (yep, I made the effort before the pub – showering and getting ready there!). Total cals: 370 cals , 52 minutes. Plus, on the way home we got off the tube at the further away stop – so an extra 12 minutes walking – woop! On Saturday we spent a few hours walking round Camden Market. That’s totally going down as at least 30 minutes exercise in my book. Yesterday I walked to Tesco and back. I think it’s about 22 minutes. Still, it’s walking so happy with that.

Writing – next (nothing to say ’cause I did NOTHING!)

Reading – I rented Snapshot by Craig Robertson from the library on Thursday night. I started reading it on Friday morning. I finished it yesterday afternoon. That says SUCCESS to me – woop! Also – brilliant book!

In my head eating and writing are the most important. I guess exercise is up there too, but reading is less so (only because I spend so much time reading anyway). This week, I’m going to concentrate on these three. I was supposed to be going out tonight, but I’m really tired so am not going to bother. I’ve had my main meal today too, so when I get home I’ll hit the laptop and write!

It’s nearly the end of January – my second goal for finishing The Man of My Dreams was the end of January (having not made the first goal of the end of December). I don’t really know how much more I’ve got to write because I’ve kind of changed the direction it’s going in. Still, I COULD get it done in a week. Would be a struggle, but I’m going to try…

I was actually thinking a lot last week about editing the novel. Unlike my usual self, I’m actually really looking forward to it. I think that’s because at the moment I’m a little lost on when the days are – I think they might all be week days with hardly any weekends in between – so want to read it to get it straight in my head. I guess I wasnt to read it then more than edit it. I think I want to edit it too.

If I’m honest, I just want to finish writing it now. I’m not bored of it, but I just want to skip to the next part of this process. Why oh why do I have to work? I bet it would be finished now if I was at home all day! 😉

4 thoughts on “Another Bad Weekend

  1. I had a similar conversation with a ‘real life’ friend who writes in her spare time….if only we didn’t have to work! Like you said your weekend wasn’t as bad as maybe you initially thought and I definately think walking counts at great exercise….better than lying on the sofa isn’t it? Hope you have a successful week and glad you are looking forward to the editing process ahead.

    ps. I do the diet coke in my alcoholic drinks too…it is SO much better than full fat….think of the damage that would do!

    • I can’t even begin to think of full fat Coke. Ugh, the calories – for NOTHING! I’ve actually always drunk diet for that reason. I was so happy when they brought out Fanta Zero – my favourite fizzy drink – with hardly any calories – woop!

  2. Hooray for looking FORWARD to editing! You are my rock star. I never get into editing. I think I need to edit in a group setting or something. *thinking up a new strategy* should be one of my goals.

    I also learned I can add my chores to my exercise list, especially when I consciously put more ooomph into them.

    I am glad you blogged. I hope it feels better that you have done so!

    • You’re so right – I am glad I did and it does feel better having done it. Maybe it will make me stick to my goals more (from today’s progrss it doesn’t look lieke it!).
      This is the first time I’ve ever looked forward to editing – usually I say I’ll do it and never do. My NaNo novel from 2010 is still sat unedited. I just hope this time I start it!

Leave a Reply

