Wednesday 25th Jan Check-in

I so have my priorities wrong. I’ve turned the laptop on, planning on having just an hour on it before I go to bed, and what’s the first thing I do? Write a blog. Sigh. I’ve opened the novel document though, and I can see it behind this page, so hopefully as it’s there I’ll work on it.

Like yesterday. Yesterday I wrote –yeeha! Get this – I wrote 1159 words!! Get me. That’s only slightly less than the whole week before! Ridiculous! Still, let’s focus on the good – I wrote 1159 words yesterday! Woop!

I still haven’t really worked out what my problem is with writing at the mo, other than I can’t seem to motivate myself to write ever in January. Or should that be ever unless I have a fixed deadline, or goal. I think that might be my problem with ROW80 – the goals I set are my own. With NaNo or even NovelPI (Novel Push Initiative – Kait from ROW80 fame ran a few years ago) there are set goals that I have to make, and I can’t change them when I feel like it.

Having said that, I know it sounded like it, I’m not quitting ROW80. I’m convinced without it, I would be writing even less than I am now, so it is helping. And it’s really helping with the non writing goals (exercise and reading anyway, today’s probably not a good day to talk about eating…).

And, the biggest reason for me, is the ROW80 community. Without it I wouldn’t have my buddy Laura (Little Rambling Angel), who I must admit I haven’t been in touch with as much as last round, but it’s still great to know she’s there. And I wouldn’t have everyone else in ROW80, the commenters, the like-ers, the bloggers who I read, there wouldn’t be sprints (for me to not join in with – I want to though). I love ROW80. This must be my 4th round now, and I know it won’t be the last.

Guess I should get on with the actual check-in/progress bit of the blog.

Here’s the chart:

 

*sorry, chart won’t upload, I’ll try again tomorrow!

So, since Monday when I last checked in, I’ve done ok actually.

No writing on Monday, but 1159 yesterday and I know I’ll get some today. I wonder if I should lower my ‘test mile’ to below 500 words. Maybe if I set it to 100, it would get me into the habit of turning the laptop on. That’s probably half the battle.

I read a lot on Monday, but yesterday and today it’s literally just been on the tube. This morning I didn’t even get as much reading done as possible as there were problems on the Northern line so I had to WALK to work. Not a problem cause it helped the exercise, but meant less reading.

Tonight though, I got on the tube two stops earlier than usual. I got my book out waiting for the tube, then carried on reading when I got on. After 2 stops I got off automatically (my usual journey is just 2 stops) and walked away from the tube still reading. It took me a good few meters to realise this wasn’t the right stop. Oops. Had to turn around and get on the next train (next one because I couldn’t bring myself to get back on the one I’d just got off!) Idiot. I should pay more attention, but shows I’m enjoying the book.

I’m reading The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets’ Nest. It’s taken me 2 years to get to a stage where I feel like I can read it again. I loved the previous 2, but they are VERY long, and they’re VERY descriptive and SHOW a lot, so it is hard work reading them. But they’re good stories. The problem I’m having is I don’t totally remember what happened in the last one, so some things aren’t making sense to me. It’s not too much of a problem, because what I don’t remember the police don’t know either, so hopefully we’ll discover them together. The other issue I have with the books is the amount of characters, whose names are so similar (and Swedish, so it’s not like remembering an everyday English name – it takes much more brain power!). Regardless of all of this, I am enjoying it!

Ok, back to my progress.

I’m doing well on the exercise thing. On Monday I just did the usual walk to London Bridge from work – about 20 minutes. Yesterday I did the same, plus a walk at lunch and the gym after work. Today I walked from the tube this morning (as said before). Tonight I had my book club meeting so couldn’t go to the gym. Instead I walked over to the pub instead of getting the bus (3km). After it, instead of getting on at the nearest tube, or getting the bus, I walked to Waterloo, about 15 minutes. Very proud of myself for that.

Eating is kinna ok. Kinna. Monday was almost really good. If I hadn’t have had a yogurt, I would have had under 1400. As it is, I went over by 49. Not the worst day in the world. Yesterday I had a training course where there were biscuits on offer. I couldn’t help it, I had some. Then when I got home, boyfriend found some more. So I had another. Ok, another and a half. I had 1704 calories. All in all, that’s still under 1750 (which I think is my ‘level’ calorie allowance). Today I’ve not worked out. I don’t really want to after the nachos I shared in the pub, the chippy chips I stole of boyfriend’s plate for dinner, and the Chocolate orange I bought (they were in Tesco for £1, I couldn’t resist! Damn Tesco).

I’ve just worked it out. Not as bad as I imagined actually – 1862. Bad, but could be worse. If I do what My Fitness Pal does and subtracts the calories I burnt exercising, 337 I get a net calorie intake of 1525. It’s not the way I want to work it out (I want to have eaten the 1525 AND then have the extra 337 burnt), but still, it’s not bad. Not anywhere near as bad as I thought it would be anyway. I just need to be better tomorrow, and Friday, and for the rest of the month. I will be better. I will, I will…

**add on – I’ve done some writing tonight – 533 of the little things, that’s a GREEN! Woop!

4 thoughts on “Wednesday 25th Jan Check-in

  1. Looks like you’ve been writing for years! “Newtowritinggirl” isn’t so accurate of a title anymore. 🙂 Now I wanna see the chart. Maybe I’ll go check out your previous #ROW80 check ins to see if I can find one. have a great rest of the week.

  2. Hooray for the 1159 words…do you just love days when the words flow? My test mile is 250 words I find it so motivating because it is so do-able so maybe lowering yours slightly would make it more do-able.

    Thanks for you comment and the lin to the challenge..will give it a look! So far ‘Will write for shoes’ is a great especially as she often references Marian Keyes who I love! Am reading through it and then will go back to certain parts when I am focusing on different parts of my WIP.

    Enjoy the rest of the week!

  3. So is it just a self-accountability thing, or lack there of? With Nano, the deadline is set. You know it before you even start writing. ROW’s goals are the ones you make. So if you set a deadline, say.. for the end of the round and don’t change it, do you still feel that pull to make sure you meet the deadline? If the answer is no, why? The deadlines you set are just (if not more) important than Nano’s. Believe in yourself. Make that deadline and stick with it. Give yourself a Nano style progress meter or a count down timer that’s right in your face reminding you of that deadline. The point is, make that deadline real because it is real.

    • Yep, that’s exactly it. I’m just better at working towards a deadline when someone else has set it, or to be honest, if I get something from it (finishing NaNo for instance). Finishing my novel doesn’t seem to have the same pull, although it’s something I really really want to do!
      You’re right though, it is AS if not MORE important. I just need to keep that in my head.
      Thanks for the comment, it’s really hung true for me!

Leave a Reply

