The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets’ Nest

THE TRIAL: Lisbeth Salander – outsider and apparent enemy of society – is charged with attempted murder. The state has also ruled that she is mentally unstable, and should be locked away in an institution once again. But she is closely guarded in a hospital, having taken a bullet to the head, so how will she prove her innocence?
THE ENEMY: Pulling the strings of the prosecution is the powerful inner circle of Sapo, the state security police. Determined to protect the secrets and corruption at Sweden’s rotten core, Sapo is not an adversary to take on alone.
THE GIRL WHO KICKED THE HORNETS’ NEST: Only with the help of Mikael Blomkvist and the journalists at Millennium magazine can Salander avoid the fate that has been decided for her. Together they form a compelling and dynamic alliance. This final volume of the Millennium Trilogy is the culmination of one of the mesmerizing fictional achievements of our time.

I read the first two novels in the trilogy years ago. I got given this one for my birthday 18 months ago, but it’s been sat on a shelf since then and I had to force myself to read it this month (putting it on the list for the TNR Pile Challenge helped on that one). I really enjoyed the first two, but did find them hard going sometimes. I then watched the Swedish movie, and it totally put me off them. Oh, that and reading a micky take which was horribly accurate on the writing (e.g. Lisbeth walked down this road, then this one then this one, then stopped and lit a cigarette with a green lighter then carried on to another street! – way too much irrelevant detail). Also I was really threatened by the size of the novel. That’s a long time to be dedicated to just one book.

I’m really glad I picked it up though. It was loooong yes, but it didn’t really seem it. I read it in less than a week!

My problem really was remembering the details of what had happened in the previous novel. It literally follows on from The Girl Who Played With Fire and because it’s maybe 2 years since I read that, there were definite holes in my memory! Coupling that with my ‘issue’ of remembering who everyone is (both from previous novels AND new characters that were introduced in this book, just with similar sounding names) I found some bits a struggle.

Even though there were all these things that ‘detracted’ from the novel, I REALLY enjoyed it. The story is totally gripping, so much so I spent Saturday morning and ALL DAY Sunday reading it – I literally couldn’t put it down. I’m not a fan of the writing – Larsson totally TELLS not SHOWS – but when a story is this exciting, I can (almost) forgive it.

I went out on Saturday afternoon with my Swedish friend, and we were discussing the trilogy. I told her I hadn’t really enjoyed the Swedish film and she was really surprised. She thought it was brilliant. It made me wonder if the problems I had with both the books and the film, were more to do with the translation (or subtitles in the film) rather than the actual writing. Something I’ll never know unless I learn Swedish.

I’m gutted that Larsson died before these books were released as I think he had a great imagination and I would have liked to read more by him. Very sad. I’m really looking forward to seeing the American version of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.

That’s book 2 for the TBR Pile Challenge and book 2 for the Mystery & Suspense Challenge (I haven’t yet reviewed Snapshot but will do tonight or tomorrow). I’m doing so well this year. If only my writing was going so well!

One thought on “The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets’ Nest

  1. Pingback: My Next Reading Challenge – The TBR Pile Challenge 2012 « Newtowritinggirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

