A Little Late To Be Improving

The last 2 days of January totally ROCKED for me for writing. On Monday I went to a NaNo style write in. I wrote 700 odd words by hand. When I got in I typed them up, then carried on where I’d stopped in the cafe. My count ended up being 1492. Woop!
On Tuesday I wanted to keep the momentum going so after watching a film, I went to the bedroom and churned out another 1055 words before bed. Woop again.
The problem is that is all a little too late. The Man of My Dreams may be coming on pretty nicely (ish), but ultimately I’m only on 72,612 (I say only…). It’s not finished. I’m nowhere near the ending. Well I guess I’m semi close, but I’ve got a lot more to do. How much I don’t know. But more. Maybe 20k more? I don’t know because I don’t really know how I’m going to get to the ending yet. Well only a very rough idea.
When I started this novel I thought it would be about 70,000 words long. Apparently that’s quite a nice length for a first-time chick lit novel. I didn’t know how I was going to get there, but that was my goal. During NaNo I got 50,000 words. That left 20,000 to go. I planned to write them in December. That didn’t happen. At the beginning of January I was mad with myself for not hitting my target, but I extended it by a month, so the end of January to finish it.
Ahh. Well that was January there *points to the past*, and I’m still not done. That’s not at all good. No siree. The only positive thing I can think to say is that I’m now at the word count where I planned to end it. Past that in fact. That’s not much comfort though is it, not when in December I’d already known it was going to be longer.
Looking at the figures, I wrote 10,385 words in January. That means I must have done 12,300 something in December. January was worse that December? That’s shocking! I’m really not happy with that. It’s like 300 words a day. That’s 200 less than I was aiming for.
As there were a lot of days where I didn’t write, it does mean that I had a lot of good days – on 9th, I wrote 2099, 10th 1084, 24th 1159, 30th 1492 and 31st 1055. If only I could get more of those days!
I now don’t know what to do towards finishing it. Should I give myself another month? Another two? Should I stop giving myself goals so I stop failing them? Should I say I need to have it finished before I start the new job (a week on Monday – way too ambitious I think, but an idea). I don’t know. I’ll have to have a think.
What I do know, is that I seem to be on a roll. I want to keep it going as long as possible. If I could make 5 days in a row green, I’d be so happy. A week and I’d be thrilled. I’m trying it, I really am.
In other goal related things – eating’s going badly again, but exercise is cancelling some of it out, and that’s going well. Reading’s only going ok this week.
Here’s my chart:

One thought on “A Little Late To Be Improving

  1. I think you’re doing well. Kick butt on those goals, not yourself! My first novel fluctuated in word count from first draft to second to third. Instead of setting the “finished” deadline, you might just keep up with word count goals. When the novel is done, you can always go back and streamline it to be fewer words. The challenge with the first draft is usually just getting it all out there.

    Best wishes for a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

