Between A Mother & Her Child by Elizabeth Noble – Review

For Maggie and Bill it was love at first sight . . . 

One impulsive wedding later and with the arrival of three perfect children, Jake, Aly and Stan, the Barrett family seem to have it all. Until the day their world stops turning.

When Jake dies suddenly, they’re swept away on a tide of grief that fractures Maggie and Bill’s marriage. She and the children are left clinging to the wreckage of their family. And they need help, because in her grief Maggie is in danger of losing Aly and Stan too.

Enter Kate, housekeeper, companion and shoulder to cry on. She’s here to pick up the pieces and fix what isn’t completely broken. But can Maggie trust Kate? And why is Kate so keen to help?

When Bill falls for another woman, Maggie realizes she will have to fight to put her family back together – but will they still want her?

Years and years ago I read a novel called Alphabet Weekends, by Elizabeth Noble. I thought it was so good I decided I’d read more by her, so I read The Tenko Club (sometimes known as The Friendship Test – no idea why the 2 names?!), that was really good too, but for some reason Noble just dropped off my radar.
Until someone suggested Between A Mother and Her Child. I wasn’t sure about it to start with, it sounded a little morbid, about a child that dies, but as I’d enjoyed those previous novels I thought I’d give it a go.

It took me a while to get into it, but once I did, I really got into it. The brilliant thing about it is you can see each part of the story from each person’s perspective. Like you think one thing about someone, from another’s POV, but then that person has a chapter, and suddenly you understand their motives.

It’s a tear jerker, obviously (I cried so many times, at so many different things, I even cried just then rereading the end), but it’s also quite heart warming. For the few days I was reading it (it didn’t take long it was that good), I could hardly stop thinking about it, like I’d be cooking dinner, thinking about what I’d just read on the way home.

I strongly recommend this – although if you do decide to read it, don’t anywhere in public, I had tears on the underground.

 

 

One thought on “Between A Mother & Her Child by Elizabeth Noble – Review

  1. This book is definately going on my to be read pile. The ‘blurb’ is fantastic and is good to know it made you think and stayed with your when you weren’t reading it.

    Also thanks for the warning about reading it in public, will keep my sobbing confined to my flat!

Leave a Reply

