Me Before You by @JojoMoyes – Review

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

You know sometimes when you’re reading a novel, you kind of have it on your mind all the time, and then when you finish it you want to shout about it and tell the world about it? Yeah, that about this.

I don’t know what first attracted me to this novel – whether it was the cover (which I love) or the synopsis on the back, or if it was indeed the title (I can’t help thinking it is, Me Before You is so simple, but says so much, and kind of makes my heart want to burst with possibilities of what’s inside), but for as long as I’ve known about it, I’ve wanted to read it.

It did not disappoint.

The prologue shows Will before his accident, a guy whose idea of a fun holiday is ‘trekking up mountains, or hanging off ravines.’ It’s great for setting the scene of who he is.

Lou jumps off the page in the first chapter as this larger than life person, who’s maybe slightly crazy, knowing how many steps there are, and with a crazy dress sense. Her family certainly think it, but before long I was totally in love with her (in the way you are with a totally awesome MC).

Their journeys together through the book are full of laughs, embarrassments, and tears. I too laughed, cringed and cried.

From about halfway through, I worried about how the ending was going to go, would it be (in my opinion) the right, or the wrong one? A bad ending can wreck a book (or movie*) for me. I was so happy when what I thought would be right, was. Without possibly knowing my opinion that can’t give anything away I hope!

*Remember Sliding Doors. I loved it, but the wrong ‘Helen’ died. It took away, just a little bit of my love for the film.

I honestly cannot recommend this enough. I’ve read so many good books this year, even though it’s only the 2nd week in February (when this review was written), I can’t believe how many good books I’ve read. This, is definitely the best.

I’d never read a Jojo Moyes novel before, despite having seen her at an author event a few years ago and wanting to. If this is anything like her older novels, I’m going to have a great time catching up on them. All nine (I think) of them!

 

2 thoughts on “Me Before You by @JojoMoyes – Review

  1. I read this recently and know exactly what you mean about it staying with you. I was torn between which ending I wanted but I think you are right, it ended the right way.

    Great book and great review. 🙂

Leave a Reply

