After The Snow by SD Crockett Review

“I’m gonna sit here in my place on the hill behind the house. Waiting. And watching.

Ain’t nothing moving down there.

The valley look pretty bare in the snow. Just the house grey and lonely down by the river all frozen. I got to think what I’m gonna do now that everyone gone.

But I got my dog head on.

The dog gonna tell me what to do. The dog gonna help me.

The house look proper empty – don’t it dog?

You just sit quiet in these rocks Willo.”

Set in the haunting and barren landscape of a new ice age, AFTER THE SNOW is the story of fifteen-year-old Willo, a ‘straggler’ kid who loses his family in the opening pages. Completely alone, he is immediately flung into an icy journey of survival, adventure, friendship and self-discovery – with only the dog spirit inside his head to guide him.

I was intrigued by this novel. I read the reviews and they were so split. I decided I had to read it, because I had to know more about it.

The MC, Willo has a weird language and way of thinking (narrating) that put a lot of people off. I can see why, the first few chapters were a bit of a struggle, but once I got used to it (maybe 3 chapters max), I completely forgot about it, and the story took me along.

The thing that kept me going for the first few chapters was the wonder of how he was going to survive on his own, in this new (old to him, it had been there his whole life) ice age. As things started happening I was more and more gripped by the things happening to him. It’s got a great, proper feel good ending too.

When I heard about it, I couldn’t decide if I could put it on my list for the Mystery & Suspense Reading Challenge. I kept that in mind the whole time I was reading it. I decided I could, because there was the mystery of how/why/where his family disappeared, but then I remembered the word SUSPENSE too, there was a lot of that.

I’d really recommend this novel, although not to everyone. If you’re looking for a nice, easy read, this isn’t for you, it is hard going to start with, but the work pays off, and it’s a really enjoyable book.

Leave a Reply

