Before I Go To Sleep by SJ Watson Review

Memories define us.

So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep?

Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love – all forgotten overnight.

And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story.

Welcome to Christine’s life.

This was chosen as our book club book for last month. Each month one of us suggests a few books, and we all decide which we like the most.

For some reason I love books about memory – The Memory Collector by Meg Gardiner, and films too – Memento and 50 First Dates. Without reading any of the other book descriptions, I KNEW I wanted to read this on. I knew that if it wasn’t the chosen one for the book club, that I’d still have to read it.

I was gripped from the off, you’re literally thrown in there with her and feel the horror of what she’s going through from page one. It starts with her waking up, thinking she’d had a one night stand and is in her mid twenties. She runs to the bathroom, to find she’s actually 20 years old.

I loved this book so much. The writing was so real, you felt you were there going through it with her. Every time I put it down (which wasn’t many, I read it very fast), I shuddered at the thought of going through that – of forgetting everything that had happened the day before, of not remembering my partner, having to fall in love with him again each day. Horrible.

The thing that wrecked it for me, was that it won two crime awards – Crime Writers’ Association Award for Best Debut Novel and Galaxy National Book Award for Crime Thriller of the Year. Great things for the author, really great things, but it meant I read it wondering about the crime. Instead of just reading it and letting the story come to me, I was looking deeper into everything to find the crime. That’s not a criticism of the novel, I couldn’t get enough of the novel, I just wish it hadn’t been branded on the cover.

I strongly recommend this novel. All three of us that read it (yeah, it’s a small book club, more just friends getting together, and deciding on a book to all read), totally loved it. I think you will too!

2 thoughts on “Before I Go To Sleep by SJ Watson Review

  1. How are you getting along with your Mills and Boon book have you sent it into them yet? I sent a manuscript in and it took six months to hear back from them.

Leave a Reply

