World Book Night – Book Blog

I thought seeing as it’s World Book Night, it would only be fitting to write a blog about books. I don’t know much about most of the 25 WBN books, so I’ll write about the ones I know, and then just some other books I’m thinking about at the moment.

I nearly applied to be a WBN book-giver-outer. Nearly. I started filling in the application form. And then I thought about it more. WBN is on a Monday. I’d have a full day of work, and then have to give out 24 books? Somehow? I had no idea how I’d go about that, so I forgot about it. Yes, I wimped out.

I did really like the idea of giving out books. I love books, so would love to share that with other people. Especially when one of the books is my all time favourite book. Still, now it’s the actual day, I’m glad I didn’t volunteer (lazy that I am), but it’s great reading about all the people that have been giving out books.

World Book Night Books:

The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger is my favourite book ever. I just loved the painful romance of it, and the strong love the characters felt for each other. The final scene is the best scene I’ve ever read. Ever. It’s just so heartbreakingly moving. Niffenegger’s follow up Her Fearful Symmetry was really good too, but nothing that I’ve read comes even close. Well, not that close anyway.

The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella. Oh how I used to love this Shopaholic series. It was great, every year, or few years, there would be another instalment featuring the hapless, ditzy, but lovable Becky. I looked forward to those releases so much. Until I got the latest one, Mini Shopaholic, and I couldn’t read it. I tried, but I couldn’t get any more than a couple of chapeters in. I don’t think it’s the novels that changed, or the writing, I think I’ve just grown up, but Becky hadn’t. I really, really wish I could go back in time about five years and read it then, because I just know I would have loved it then. I hope Kinsella does more stand alone books, because they’ve ALWAYS been brilliant. Speaking of which, I’ve not bought ‘I’ve Got Your Number’ yet, I really should.

Notes From A Small Island by Bill Bryson. I’ve not actually read this book, but I’ve read quite a few of Bryson’s books, they’ve all been brilliant, and funny, and clever. My favourite is A Short History of Nearly Everything, which is exactly what it says it is. It’s supposed to explain everything in the universe, from it’s creation to, well, now, in simple terms that you and I would understand. I did, I learnt so much, and then I got 2/3 of the way in, and it started going over my head. I want to read it again, and work really hard to get further. I’d also love to read Notes From A Small Island. In fact, I think it’s in the lounge, on my TBR shelf.

Other Books:

The Lake of Dreams by Kim Edwards. A few years ago, I read Edwards’ first novel, The Memory Keeper’s Daughter. It was an amazing, thought provoking novel. I loved it. When I saw this in the shop a few weeks ago, I had to get it a) because I’d loved the previous one so much, and b) because it had an awesome cover. Unfortunately, I didn’t like the sound of it that much. But because of a) and b) I picked it up. I’m on page 35 now, and am enjoying it. I knew I would. I’ll keep you informed how I go on.

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. I really wanted to hate this book. I read it because the girls at work kept pestering me to read it, telling me I’d love it. Yeah, I thought, I’ll show you, I’ll read it and hate it. Don’t you just know it, I loved it. It’s the novel I talked about above, that comes close to The Time Traveller’s Wife. Again, I think the love story was just really well told, and I totally fell in love with Edward too – team Jacob, what’s wrong with you?

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I read about this when it first came out, and was captivated by it. I didn’t really know why, the description isn’t very detailed, that’s maybe why. I suggested it as our next book for our book group, and everyone agreed immediately. I need to buy and read it before 13th May, when we meet. I’ve just discovered it’s only out until the end of May in hardback. Damn. I hate hardback novels. I’d so rather wait and get it in paperback, but I can’t. Damn. Despite this, I’m still really looking forward to reading it!

There you go. Those are the books on my mind at the moment. What’s on your mind now? What are you reading, or just thinking about?

Leave a Reply

