ROW80 Check In, and Meeting Chris Batty

I’m actually thinking Chris Batty should really be CHRIS BATTY in that title, don’t you? I’ll cover the CHRIS BATTY thing, then move on to the check in (Because we can probably all put guesses on where that particular one is going).

So the other week I got a Facebook invite to an event for NaNo yesterday. NaNo being in November, I was thouroughly confused, until I opened my eyes and read it properly – Chris Batty was coming toLondon. Chris Batty of ‘I invented National Novel Writing Month’ fame. THE Chris Batty. How cool?!

So Sunday rocked up, I managed to get over my hangover from the day before (wine tasting inLondonBridge, hard to attend without a hangover!), and get down to The Mad Hatter (the coolest name for a pub), to meet up with the NaNo crowd, and CHRIS BATTY.

I may have got there an hour late, but Chris had about 40 people to get through (that was a guess, I have no idea how many people were there). He was making his way anti clockwise round the group, from my right. Awesome, I could sit with my friends, and wait for him to come to me.

A couple of pints of cider were drunk in the hour or two it took him to get round to my group of people, luckily not enough to get me drunk, but enough to make me nice and relaxed.

Chris sat down with four of us and started asking us all aboutLondon.

Luckily the other four are quite chatty nice people, which gave me a chance to sit there and swoon for a bit Yes guys, Chris Batty is pretty hot. He also, as it turns out, is very chatty, and really really nice. I was not the only one to leave the pub with a Chris Batty Crush.

Our group talked about the Jubilee (as a foreigner probably would), about where we lived, and then finally about NaNo.

NaNo is such a huge part of our lives (not just the four of us he was talking to at the time, but many, many more in the NaNo London crowd), that it was so awesome to chat to the guy who thought it up. It really was like meeting a celebrity.

Our time came, and Chris moved on (I wasn’t bitter, not at all). Only once he’d gone, I realised he’d spent most of his conversation chatting aboutLondonand us, not himself, or inventing NaNo, or anything.

We got a chance later though, when he came to sit with another group of us (musical chairs in the pub due to air con being turned on). Did we ask him much about himself though? No, we talked about Hackney (where he was staying),Londonbuses vs tubes and stuff.

I’ve come away thinking he’s such a nice guy, not to mention HOT, but not really feel like we got to know him. I guess I was kind of expecting him to do a stand at the front and talk to us thing, then questions and answers or something.

Still, I’ve met Chris Batty. How cool is that. I didn’t have his book to get him to sign (I STILL haven’t bought it!), but my friend did take a photo of him and me. Unfortunately, she’s now inMorocco, so can’t email it to me, so I can’t add it here. As soon as I get it you can bet your ass I’ll be sticking it on Twitter, Facebook, and right here guys.

Anyway. After all that excitement – ROW80.

Ahhh, ROW80, yes. Well…

I’ve done some writing today. I got home from the Jubilee Garden Party (in the rain, not so much fun), thinking about something. I realised it would make a good story, so wrote the beginning of it. 350 words. Saturday, Friday and I think Thursday were… well, blank. I was too tired when I thought about writing to do anything any of them. It’s fine, I’ve written today, I think that’s my habit, not a few days not writing.

I’m still not feeling 100%, so haven’t been exercising, and have been at events for the last 3 days, so not been watching what I’ve been eating. Regardless, I’ve lost 4 lb in just over a week. Woop! Imagine how much more I can lose next week when I am feeling able to go to the gym or running, and am watching my weight all week.

Apparently I have other goals. Seeing as it’s now one in the morning, and off the top of my head I can’t remember them, I’m going to leave it there.

I feel like this week is going to be a good one for me (even though I’m going to be distracted for a couple of days when boyfriend gets back from his round Europe travels!). I hope it is for you too.

Ps. It’s too late to edit this, please ignore the bad grammar etc etc, I’ll do better next time I promise!

5 thoughts on “ROW80 Check In, and Meeting Chris Batty

  1. That is so cool! I must buy the book too!

    4lbs is great especially if you haven’t been feeling great. Hope you have a super productive week and thanks as always for your comment 🙂

  2. Sounds like you’re still making progress and having fun besides. Don’t worry about the little setbacks. You’ll get there, and you’ll be far happier than someone who raced to the finish without taking a chance to enjoy the scenery along the way,

  3. So cool you met him!!
    Wow, I wish I lost 4 lbs in a week! lol
    Hopefully this week will be better to all of us!

Leave a Reply

