555 Blog Competition

This is my 555th blog.
555.
I started blogging just over 3 years ago, which means, on average, 14 blogs a month (on average, sometimes there must have been more, because sometimes there’s been a whole lot less!). That’s quite a lot. Certainly worth celebrating anyway.
A few months ago, WordPress changed. When you posted a blog, it started telling you how many you’d posted. And it started giving you goals. Rubbish goals to the next 5 above where you were (500, 505, 510 etc). I hated it. How dare WordPress tell me what MY goals were? I had my own goals.
That’s when I made a decision. I was going to get myself a massive blog goal. A really good one. 555. That was going to be it, I love repetitive numbers.
And to celebrate hitting it, a competition.
One of my favourite things to do is read, which I think is something I share with lots of the readers of this blog. It’s obvious then isn’t it, what the competition is to win. BOOKS!
It was really easy to decide which books to give away as well – ones by my favourite authors. Yes, ONES, I’m giving away more than one. More than two in fact. I’m giving away three.
Two of my favourite current books are The Making of Us by Lisa Jewell and Never Look Away by Linwood Barclay. So those two. Then another of my favourite authors – Keris Stainton – has just brought out a book, Emma Heart LA. I’ve not read it, but if it’s anything like the last two, it’s going to be great. Three. Easy! Three books, one winner.


So, fancy winning 3 books? I’m not going to make it hard, just leave a ‘pick me’ comment (leaving your email address, for my eyes only), by midnight (BST – London time) on Friday 22nd June. After that, my independent adjudicator (boyfriend) will pick a name out of a hat (or more likely a bowl, or mug, or maybe, to make it special, a champagne glass). I know a lot of people are non-UK based, so the competition is open internationally. For an extra entry, tweet about the competition – remember to let me know you’ve done it though and your twitter name if it’s not the same as your name here, either on here or directly on twitter (@new2writinggirl).
Good luck everyone.

12 thoughts on “555 Blog Competition

  1. Pick me! [because why should only women get to read the best books?!] :p (have retweeted too!i)

  2. Firstly, congrats on all the blogging. You are way more prolific than me. I started in Sept 2011 and have only managed 22 so far! Like you I love a nice roundor repetitive number ; )

    Secondly, Lisa Jewell is brilliant. I came across you via her Twitter. I’m going to be interviewing her soon. I am @yasminselena on Twitter and have RT’d your post : ) Thx for the competition xx

  3. Congratulations on blogging for 3 years, I’ve only been blogging 8 months but loving it ;0)

    I’m ashamed to say I’ve never read any of Lisa Jewell’s books so I’d love to win a copy of this. I’ll RT now, @ShazsBookBlog

    • You should read Lisa Jewell books – even if you don’t win the competition! Her writing is awesome (I’ll be posting a review of Yhe Making of Us in the next couple of days to prove it!)

  4. Pick me???
    ( also hate the bloody ‘ congratulations – you have posted 38 times – only 62 more times to get to your 100 goal’ thingy)….

Leave a Reply

