#ROW80 Check-in and Win Books!

Yes, you read that right, win books. Yesterday I celebrated my 555th blog, with a competition to win 3 books – The Making of Us by Lisa Jewell, Never Look Away by Linwood Barclay and Emma Heart LA by Keris Stainton. The competition is still open if you want to win – just click here.

Now on with the bad bit, the check-in.

It’s gone all bad again. Well, this week is bad. This week is almost terrible. Until today I had only written 50% of days. Granted there’s only been 2, but it feels bad. To be honest, I’m really stressed at work, so don’t feel too bad taking some time off. However, as I always have some kind of excuse, I probably should.

My ROW buddy Laura and I decided at the weekend to kick ourselves back into action by seeing who could write the most each day. We’re checking in at 9pm each day. So far, we stand at:

  Helen  Laura
Saturday 0 707
Sunday 350+ 500+
Monday 0 375
Tuesday 296 300+

Well, we can see who this is working for, and it’s not me. It’s great having someone to kick my ass, even if it’s not working. At least it makes me think about writing, which I wouldn’t do without her. Thanks Laura. The new round starts in a couple of weeks, I think it’s going to be our round. I think we’re both going to smash it!

Nothing else is going particularly well either.
I did my Just Dance thing on the Wii on Sunday, but haven’t done any other exercise. I am back in the habit of 20 mins walk to and 20 mins walk from work, so that’s good. I just need to push it that extra and go to the gym, or running, or more Just Dance. Just remembered I got off the tube a stop early today, so had an extra 12 minutes walking, that’s good (even if the reason was delays rather than exercise!)

Not doing great blogging either. I’ve got a great excuse though. I decided last week to celebrate my 555th blog, but I’d just posted my 554th. That meant until I did my celebration 555 blog, I couldn’t do any others. And I dragged my feet arranging it. I’ll try harder.

I’m not going to bed early, I’m not doing my daily exercises, I’m not dieting very well (today might go ok, except I’ll probably drink half a bottle of wine – not so good, but needed, see above re work!).

This time last round I gave up. I’d done so badly running up to it, that I just couldn’t be bothered with the last week. Writing this, the thought went through my mind again, but this time, I’m stronger. I’ve not been doing well, but without ROW80 (and Laura), I bet I’d be doing worse. One week to go, lets see if I can make it count!

5 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in and Win Books!

  1. I’m right with you! I just wrote my check-in about all of the things I’ve been doing INSTEAD of my writing. WHAT a knucklehead I am. Anyway, I set a deadline for myself to finish my novel so that I don’t continue to blatantly ignore that which is supposed to so important to me right now!
    Best of luck to both you and Laura. And, listen, at least not ALL of your days are zeroes! You are doing something right!!

  2. YOU ARE DOING SO MUCH BETTER THAN YOU THINK!! 🙂 Give yourself a pat on the back for what you did manage and here’s the kick from me willing you to do more!
    As you say, there’s always round three too. xxxxxxx

  3. As you say, you are clearing the air, recognizing where you are so you know where to go. For me, ROW80 really clarifies how or how I am not integrating writing into my life. Perhaps, ROW80 remains the structure of who we are as writers, allowing us to find our way. All in all, you did write, and you have published 555 blog posts, both of which are impressive.

    We’re with you!
    Karen

Leave a Reply

