Ok, Start Again

I’d like to apologise to everyone who regularly reads this blog. All the posts about how I’ve not done any writing, and THIS will be the week that I start again, must be getting boring. So sorry for them in the past, and sorry that I’m having to write one again today.

I have no excuses this week either. I’ve just not thought about writing.

My boyfriend upset me the other day by saying that I didn’t want to be a writer, how could I when I’ve not written anything of any sustenance for six months? I argued, saying I’m just stuck in the novel, and don’t know where to go with it. I think about it a lot. I think I do anyway. A little at least.

I went home this weekend. When I got there on Friday, I was chatting to my mum about her writing course, the one that I’m ‘doing’ she’s also doing. I showed her a couple of my assignments, and I was really impressed with them. I actually enjoyed reading them. I’m not a bad writer at all. So really I should get on with writing.

After I’d shown her a couple of assignments, I started telling her about The Man of My Dreams (the current novel I’m writing). I got quite excited about it, and she wanted to read it. I’d not given it to anyone before, so have had no opinions. I showed her a couple of bits, which she really liked. That’s good. I’d like to think that she’d tell me if she didn’t like it. I’m sure she would. No, I know she would!

So now I’ve got it in my head again. I’ve still got this ‘I don’t know where I’m going with it’ thing in my head, but am now thinking it might not be as bad as I think. I might be able to  go forward from where I currently am. I mean I might not, I might have to go back and delete the previous 20k ish (I won’t cry, I won’t cry), but that’s fine. Well, I hope it will be.

We also got talking about the tense – I’m writing it in past, but I think it might be better to be in present. I’m writing it very much how she thinks, but I’m not sure it’s working in past tense. Having said that, when I read the bits back on Friday, I thought it sounded ok. I think I really need to read it all, or more, to see how it sounds. If I’m going to change it to present tense, do I really want to carry on writing it now?

Actually, yes I do. Like I said a while ago, I’m not going to get a printer for another maybe 6 weeks. Boyfriend has said he’ll print some of it off at work, so that’s good, but it’s well over 100 pages, and that’s single spacing. Well more double spaced, which I’d ideally like. He’s only just started the job, so I don’t want to get him in trouble for printing off a whole load of stuff that isn’t work. I should write until I can print. Or, as Emily suggested, stop moaning and go to a shop to get it printed (ok, so I said the stop moaning bit!).

Ok, I’m off. I’m going to do some writing before I decide it’s too late before bed. I’ll try my hardest to write this week. My goal is 150 words a day, it’s really not that hard. REALLY NOT THAT HARD!

5 thoughts on “Ok, Start Again

  1. You can do it. Start from where you are at and keep going. Don’t reread what you already have. If you don’t know where the story is going ask your characters question about where they are, where they want to go and just keep asking questions until you have something come through. Time yourself. Right for 30 minutes then get up and dance, or chores or something for 10 to 30 minutes then back to writing again. Keep going and don’t stop until you are done. You can do it!

    Peace,
    Morgan

  2. You’re doing fine. This is a very normal obstacle for a writer, and learning to get through it is important. Take Morgan’s advice! Or try to take some index cards and sketch out different ideas for where the story could go. Write an index card for each scene you have, like Boy meets girl in a diner, and then brainstorm scenes that could develop beyond that one, and then beyond those one. Try different processes that are out there, and you’ll find what works for you in finding your way through these weeds!

  3. I saw on twitter after you wrote this you went off and wrote above your daily goal….hope you have the same success today! Getting in a habit of daily writing is so hard and although I can’t offer many words of wisedom I just want you to know you are not alone! I look forward to seeing your word counts this week!!!

  4. Oh, don’t be sad about starting again.
    I’m 40k into the novel I’m writing, and I’m starting to think it’s not working and I might have to drop it and start again too. It happens. It’s party of the journey. I know, and I really know, even famous writers have to dump chunks of the things they work away. Sometimes they start a book and drop it all together when they are almost done.
    The important is not to give up!

Leave a Reply

