This Would Be A Good Habit To Form

I’m at work, on my lunch break. Usually I don’t really take a lunch break, but today, three things have made me. 1) my emails have frozen, so what I was going to do while I eat, I can’t do; 2) at the weekend I was saying I never really take a lunch break, and I realised I should, I don’t get paid for my lunch hour, so why should I work through it? and 3) I’m really bored today (not because I have nothing to do, I have loads to do, but because everything I have to do today is boring!)! Oh, and another I’ve just thought of – 4) if I take a lunch break, I might be more productive when I go back to work.

I was going to do some writing, but my novel is on my laptop, and I’m at my work computer. My laptop is at home. I could carry on with it from memory, but I’ve got to be honest, I have no idea where I am with it.

Ha. I meant where I finished writing yesterday, but that could totally also mean I don’t know where I’m going with it, which I still don’t.

I had some great advice after yesterday’s post (thank you all) for what I could be doing. Inside I feel like I KNOW what I should be doing, but it’s changing that KNOW into a DO.

I know I need to go back and read it, because I’ve not written much for so long, that I can’t remember big things, and I need to know whether to carry on the way I’m going, or if I should go back and change the last 10k words. I think that’s the thing stopping me, if I have to delete, that’s a lot of words.

Of course there’s also that fear that what I’ve written isn’t any good. For some reason, when it comes to writing, I’m not one of those people who doesn’t like what they read. Personally, I quite like what I write, and generally think it’s quite good (generally). But, what if this novel is actually bad? I’d have to rewrite it all. Or start again or something (I think the idea is good, so it’s just HOW it’s written).

That’s silly really though. I read the first 6 pages the other day. As I said yesterday, it was ok. If the rest is like this first bit, I’ll probably enjoy it. But still, there’s that fear!

I’m going to bite the bullet. I’m going to transfer the novel to my phone, and start (carry on) reading on my way home. Then tomorrow on the way to work etc etc. I’ll carry on writing, but I’ll write different things, not on this novel. I’m still aiming for 150 words a day (I only got 86 yesterday!) so NEED to carry on with this (especially as I’m having a competition with my buddy Laura!)

Leave a Reply

