Quick ROW80 Check-in

This is going to have to be short (but pretty sweet) as I’m desperate for my bed having only had 2 hours sleep last night (story follows).

I must start, and brag about how well writing is going. I decided on Sunday that I was going to read The Man of My Dreams, and write other stuff – from prompts, finish bits I’d started etc. My game of Tag with my buddy Laura has helped massively. This week, I’ve Written:

Sunday – 86

Monday – 217

Tuesday – 545

Wednesday – 250.

My goal is 150 a day, so I’m pretty much rocking (ignoring Sunday – at least I wrote). On Monday I decided that Tuesday had to be a 500 word day for Laura (she has to hand her RNA novel in by the end of the month), and if it is for Laura, it is for me. Today I’ve decided 1,000 is tomorrow’s goal. No, Laura has no say in this.

Anyone else want to join in with a One Thousand Thursday? Ooh, that’s quite catchy. I might turn that into a thing. Maybe a One Thousand Thursday – and posting what was written. I’ve not posted anything I’ve written for ages, it must be at least a year. Gulp!

I’ll shortly talk about my lack of sleep last night, because it’s the reason I didn’t write more today (frankly I’m surprised I wrote anything today at all).

I got a call last night from my boyfriend’s friend, saying they were in an ambulance on the way to A&E, because Steve, in his wisdom, had had a shot of something poured from high, and something from the bottle had fallen down his throat. They thought it was going to be a simple pull out. 45 minutes later, I get a call from a doctor suggesting I come in. So I did. They tried a few more times to get it out (still what it was, was unknown to them), with no luck before deciding they needed to give him general anaesthetic to remove it without his natural gag reflex working.

They sent me home at 4am, but I slept badly, not knowing how the ‘operation’ was going. I then had to go there before work to take his stuff. Then go to work. Then he was getting discharged so I left work, only to hang around the hospital for 3 and a half hours while they got the consultant and the drugs together. We got home and fell asleep. And now I need an early night.

He’s fine, in a bit of pain, but ok. I’m now ok. At about 5am I had the thought that if whatever it was (it turned out to be the bottle top security ring) had gone in differently it could have blocked his windpipe and killed him. Scary, scary thoughts, not good at any time, but definitely not at 5am.

Still. He’s fine, and by tomorrow I will have caught up with my sleep (he however has been told by his boss not to go to work until next week – good job, consultant said he won’t feel ok until Sunday, so can sleep 24/7 for the next few days!) so be raring for my One Thousand Thursday!

5 thoughts on “Quick ROW80 Check-in

  1. Great word counts and good luck for One Thousand Thursday!!

    Glad to hear your boyfriend is ok, scary how these things can happen and turn your day, week, month upside down!

    Have a great weekend!

  2. I love the idea of (and the sound of) One Thousand Thursday. I will try to join you in this drive tonight, but I make no guarantees, as my wife and kids often trump serious writing time.

    Good luck today!

  3. One Thousand Thursday takes me back to my senior high school days when every essay was 1000 words! I still find myself writing blog posts that are that length. I think they programmed me!

    Actually, it’s a good length. I find it comfortable.

    I am glad the bottle incident turned out well. Here’s wishing you less bottles, good sleep and many happy words on the page.

    Cheers, Cate (ROW80)

Leave a Reply

