One Thousand Thursday – The Challenge Begins

Late last night, as I wrote my ROW80 check-in blog, I came up with the idea of One Thousand Thursday. It’s quite easy really, One thousand words written on Thursday. As soon as I had it, I realised how brilliant it is, and that I need to start doing it every week. You know how I love a challenge.

So tonight, I’m attempting to write 1,000 words. It’s not easy: I left work later than I planned to; Then I walked most of the way home; Then I had dinner; Then, once I turned on the laptop, I had to surf Facebook, Twitter, blogs, everything, anything.

Then of course, I had to decide what to write. I’m not writing my novel now, I’m going to read it to decide what direction to take it, so I had to find something else. I remembered Fiction Friday that I used to love (I love writing from prompts, in fact, I can pretty much only write from prompts – except novels, they’re always my ideas), until it stopped. I saw a while ago the ex-owners of Fiction Friday have a new home, Write Anything, and a new prompt type thing, Prompted, so I went there.

I cheated. I looked at a few prompts and decided I couldn’t get anything from them, so moved on. Maybe not cheating, but in my eyes it’s cheating! I shouldn’t have done it, I should have written from the first one I saw.

I got to like the fourth or fifth, and found one I liked: He tied the towel around his neck, a makeshift superhero cape and pulled a pair of red underpants over his jeans. How awesome is that. Especially because I imagine it to be a 5-year-old kid, but actually when I wrote, I made it a 30 odd year old man. Brilliant.

I got to 400 and realised 1,000 words is a lot, I was struggling, but I pushed through. Then, before I knew it, I was at 557. Then I made the mistake of stopping. Tweeting, chatting to my boyfriend, and writing this. I wanted to go to bed at 11pm, but I’ve got another 443 words to write, and it’s 3 miuntes to. And, now this to edit. Ah. Maybe I’ll go to bed by 12.

I’ll update when I finish, because I KNOW I’ll finish. I can’t fail at my own challenge can I?

Do you like the idea of One Thousand Thursday (#OneThouThur on Twitter)? Wanna join in? (if you’ve got time ‘today’ that is – obviously no Aussies, or British can apply) I’m going to have it again next week – that will keep pushing me to write won’t it – so if you want to join in let me know. I’ll give you a push on your blog or twitter…

Oh on a last note, if this blog was the fiction I have to write today, I would have hit 1,000 about 20 words ago. Sigh.

*Add on Alert*

I did it, in fact, once I got back into it, I really did it. I’m the proud owner of 1123 words today. WOOP!

Massive well done too goes out to Laura Parish and Mike Paulson for getting over One Thousand today too! Go us!

Leave a Reply

