The Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes Review

June the first, a bright summer’s evening, a Monday . . .

And into the busy, bustling homes at 66 Star Street slips, unseen, a mysterious visitor. As the couples, flatmates and repentant singletons of No 66 fall in and out of love, clutch at and drop secrets, laugh, cry and simply try to live, no one suspects the visitor patiently waiting in the wings. For soon, really very soon, everything is going to change . . .

 

Marian Keyes was the first author I really remember getting me into chick lit. I remember at uni reading all her novels, and loving every single one. As her career progressed, I carried on reading, and loving every single one of them.

Which is why it was such a surprise that I bought The Brightest Star in the Sky when it came out, but it sat on my shelf for a few years before I read it. I can’t explain why that is, I cannot understand any logical reason why I would have done that.

In January when I was deciding my 12 books for the TBR Pile Challenge, I knew I had to put this on – oh, how hard for me.

I started reading it, and, predictably, couldn’t put it down. I was enthralled with the characters, I laughed and cried with them. TBSITS is Keyes at her best (does she write anything that isn’t her best? I’ve not read it if she has – and like I said I’ve read everything of hers). It’s not Angels, which to be honest is hard to beat because it’s in my top 5 ever books, but it’s damn good. I’d recommend it to any Keyes fan, or female fiction fan, in fact anyone.

Keyes’ new novel ‘The Mystery of Mercy Close’ is out in September, and I will be there on the day, ready to buy it, and this time, I’ll read it immediately. I cannot wait!

One thought on “The Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes Review

  1. Pingback: My Next Reading Challenge – The TBR Pile Challenge 2012 « Newtowritinggirl's Blog

Leave a Reply

