Memoirs of An Imaginary Friend by Matthew Green Review

My name is BUDO.

I have been alive for 5 years.

5 years is a very long time for someone like me to be alive.

MAX gave me my name. Max is 8 years old.

He is the only human person who can see me.

I know what Max knows, and some things he doesn’t.

I know that Max is in danger.

And I know that I am the only one who can save him.

 

I was instantly attracted to the cover, and the title of this, which is odd, because I’d say as a rule I like the novels I read to be fully based in reality (mainly chick lit, thrillers). Having said that, I read and loved Cecelia Ahearn’s If You Could See Me Now, which was also about an imaginary friend, so maybe that’s why.

I really enjoyed this. Once I started it, I just couldn’t put it down. Budo is such an awesome character, I got really into it and the story, and the lives of the characters. I know the blurb about the book said that Max was in danger, but I didn’t really think it would turn into a Mystery and Suspense Challenge novel, but it did, and that kept me gripped. I was literally sat there reading it willing the right thing to happen (I don’t want to give away anything, so sorry, but that has to be vague). At the end of the day, it’s not a John Grisham/Meg Gardiner type thriller, but there’s a mystery there.

I totally recommend this, and will be reading his other books (it took me a while to find them, in the US he goes by another name, Matthew Dicks, and here in the UK Something Missing seems to be under that name!)

Leave a Reply

