Trying to Get ‘Back’ On It.

I do make myself laugh – that title is brilliant. ‘Back’ on it. Know why it’s so funny? The reason I NEED to get back down to it, is that I’ve done nothing over the weekend, due to a bad back.

I’ve never had back problems, both my boyfriend and Mum do, so I’ve always had sympathy for them, but never experienced it myself (except for a continued trapped nerve in the bottom of my back that manifests as pain in my hip and knee – go figure!). Now I wish I still hadn’t.

On Friday, I woke up, after quite a heavy night drinking I must admit, and my back hurt a little. No idea why (possibly drunken incident, not sure). By the time I left work that evening, I was in agony. Saturday morning was quite bad, but lying in bed most of the day pretty much fixed it, until late Saturday night, at a party I think I turned funny, and the pain came shooting back. Sunday, I couldn’t walk, or move even. yesterday was a little better, and today it just aches, no shooting pains or anything. Just ache, which isn’t great, but I’ll take that over the pain I had over the weekend.

Needless to say, I got no writing, or blogging done over the weekend. Pretty much the only position that was comfortable was lying down – pretty hard to type like that.

The only positive is that I got a lot of reading done. I’m reading Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer for my reading group – it’s brilliant, really enjoying it.

Today is a new day though. I’m back at work after the long weekend (what great timing to get ill!), and raring to go again.

Especially since last Thursday, for One Thousand Thursday I wrote over 1,000 words, on my novel The Man of My Dreams. Woop!

Because I have this theory that I need to read it back before I can carry on writing it, someone suggested I should just write random stuff in character – not necessarily for the novel, but just using the characters, so I stay in their minds etc. I started, but then realised that it would make a great scene in the novel.

Yes, I’m brilliant I know.

And with that revelation (huhm), I’ll get on with some work so I can leave on time tonight to go home and do some more writing – woop!

4 thoughts on “Trying to Get ‘Back’ On It.

  1. You poor thing! Having done the laying in bed reading thing myself because of a bad back I know how frustrating but necessary it can be. I hope it gets better soon and you do indeed get back on it! I hope tonights writing goes well 🙂

Leave a Reply

